Monday, February 27, 2012

Tuneage Tuesday


"Tuneage Tuesday" is where I will be posting some of my new favorite songs. Sometimes they'll be connected with a book or a series, and sometimes they're just stuck in my head randomly. Either way, new music is always good :]

This week's tune is: 
Where in the World are You by The Great Lake Swimmers


Where You've Heard It: Chances are, you probably haven't.

Why I Love It: In keeping with this weeks theme of disturbing, but powerful, truths I wanted to share this video. First, the main reason I love it so much is because it was recommend to me by one of my very best friends that passed away last year. Every single time I think of him, this song is playing in my head. It holds a strong tie to his memories What's so "disturbing" is he recommended me this song to me back in 2008 (he didn't pass until 2011). A part of me wonders if somewhere deep inside, he knew that I would need this song one day.  The lyrics say everything that you do when you lose someone in your life: you search for them, grasping at straws, to seek some part of them out in a world that they are no longer apart of. It speaks of the complete emptiness you find everywhere that you seek that person out in. It's terribly sad, but honest to it's core.
Now, what does it have to do with a book? Well, since I've been on such a "Forbidden" kick (see my last review), this song reminded me of it. There is a certain part in the book where this song came just floating back into my head  that I could see it being used if it was a scene in a movie. If you read the book (which you totally should if I haven't gushed about it enough), you may see what I mean.

Quotation Monday

Quotation Monday is something I've come up with to share some of my favorite quotes from really great novels, movies, lyrics, etc.

In corresponding with the "heavy" book I just read (see: "Forbidden" by Tabitha Suzuma Review), today's quote is going to be a little different. For starters, it's not a quote at all, but a poem. It's also not the most uplifting one out there. However, it has truth and power and that's my kick this week.

"The Ballad of Reading Gaol" by Oscar Wilde

Yet each man kills the thing he loves
  By each let this be heard,
Some do it with a bitter look,
  Some with a flattering word,
The coward does it with a kiss,
  The brave man with a sword!

Some kill their love when they are young,
  And some when they are old;
Some strangle with the hands of Lust,
  Some with the hands of Gold:
The kindest use a knife, because
  The dead so soon grow cold.

Some love too little, some too long,
  Some sell, and others buy;
Some do the deed with many tears,
  And some without a sigh:
For each man kills the thing he loves,
  Yet each man does not die.

Sunday, February 26, 2012

"Forbidden" by Tabitha Suzuma

Before I even attempt to review this amazing, powerful book, I'm going to give you some warnings. This book is not for the faint of heart. It is strong, emotionally gripping, and hard to read. The subject matter is taboo and some people will just absolutely hate it because of that reason. However, if you're like me, some of you will find that the more taboo the subject is, the more powerful it reads. If your one of those people that have a hard time opening up your mind and can't get pass the conservative (for extreme lack of a better word) view point, you might want to pass on this. But, if you're willing to take the emotional plunge, the upheaval, the staying up late into the night beyond disturbed feelings that come with this book... well, let me just tell you, it's worth it.
_____________________________________________________________

"But of the tree of the knowledge of good and evil, thou shalt not eat of it: for in the day that thou eatest thereof thou shalt surely die." -Genesis 2:17

Synopsis: Sixteen year old Maya and seventeen year old Lochan have spent the past five years taking care of their three younger siblings while their mother goes out binge drinking every night and stays off for days with her boyfriend. It's hard, but with the support of each other they manage the burden of a family life they never asked responsibility for. Taking on roles as parents, and having no one else to confide in, Maya and Lochan begin to realize that their feelings for each other have gone beyond the brother and sister realm into a completely forbidden place. Their love for each other escalates until it becomes impossible to deny. But when something is this wrong, the consequences will be devastating.

My Thoughts: Despite it's slow start, this book quickly turned into one of the more amazing ones that I have read in a long, long time. As I said before, it was hard, so hard, to read, for many reasons. But I am so... well not happy because this book is not a happy book, but... gratified that I did pick it up and that I did finish it. Despite the very taboo subject of incest, that wasn't what made the book difficult for me, although, I know it will be what makes it hard for others. I grew up reading V.C. Andrew books (which are filled with incest of some kind), so I was, well not use to the subject, but more willing to accept the possibility of it. No, what made this book hard for me to read was the powerful emotions it conveyed. The mental state it brought me. It was disturbing, yes. But you are thrown into one of the most dysfunctional families out there and it really troubles you. It makes you feel things that you are uncomfortable feeling. It sucks you into Lochan's world where there is obvious psychological damage and makes you feel like you are suffocating right along with him. I can't stress enough how psychologically disturbing this book is.  So, why read it then? Because when a book moves you this powerfully, it is making you feel. It makes you alive. It is worth it.

For the more technical aspect of it, I will tell you that it is told in alternating POV's from Lochan and Maya. This does not disturb the flow of the book though. In fact, I think it was pretty pivotal because the depth of their love is hard to accept that you have to see it from both sides, to more fully understand that this is something is beyond consensual. The characters are so real, you will be left heartbroken when it's over. As I stated above, the beginning was slow for me, but once I got sucked in, I couldn't stop; so make sure you have plenty of spare time (so you won't be like me staying up past midnight to write this review when I have a college exam at 7:00 am).

This book relays something so powerful and touching that it will leave you reeling. I loved it and it is now one of my favorites.

My Rating: 5/5 Stars
GoodReads Rating: 4.11 Stars

Teaser Pleasers:
-I am a person coming undone.


-I know how he feels- it's so good it hurts. I think I'm going to die from happiness. I think I'm going to die from pain.


If you liked this book you may want to check out...
Flowers in the Attic by V.C. Andrews



Thursday, February 23, 2012

"Shadows" by Jennifer L. Armentrout (Lux 0.5)

***SPOILERS for Obsidian may be ahead!***


Synopsis: Dawson Black's life was pretty simple... for an alien. The rules were always clear: Don't let humans know who you are, check in with the Depart of Defense (the DOD) every month, and keep the rival aliens a secret from the DOD (while managing to stay alive, of course). The rules were no picnic, especially meeting with the DOD, but they were easy for Dawson to follow. Until he met Bethany Williams, a human. Now all of the rules are getting harder and harder for Dawson to follow, especially the one about not telling humans who he really is. But if he breaks it, it could cost Bethany's life...

My Thoughts: I feel like I've been waiting for this novella to come out for forever!!!! And it did not disappoint! Where Daemon (from "Obsidian") is all defense, Dawson is easy going, and it's mostly told from his perspective (even though it's third person). The vocabulary in this series is amazing, because it's real. The characters are just like your everyday friends, except that, well you know, they're aliens and alien-lovers. I found myself cracking up laughing, crying, and having those "Awww" moments. If you loved Obsidian then you will love it's prequel Shadows.

My Rating: 5/5 Hot Twin Aliens
GoodReads Rating: 4.40 Stars

Teaser Pleasers:
-Hey, honey. I'm an alien and apparently I just doused you with some radioactive loving! Wanna catch a movie?


-Birds sang. Spring was on the way... and so was one big, pissed-off, evil alien.


-Mandatory pregnancy test were in her future.


-"The world is going to end. And I'm still a vir-" "NO!" both the brothers yelled in unison. 


Be sure to keep an eye out for book two in the Lux Series coming out May 15, 2012!

Wednesday, February 22, 2012

"Queen of the Dead" by Stacey Kade (Ghost & the Goth #2)

Things are finally looking up for Will. He's graduated high school, has a part-time job, and even has a hot ex-cheerleader girlfriend. There's only one small problem... she's a ghost.

Synopsis: Alona and Will thought they had everything figured out, for the most part. She was his spirit guide- like a secretary to the dead- and in the process helped him look saner to the outside world. And of course, she was his sort-of girlfriend. In return, Will was going to eventually help her transition into the afterlife. Things were great... until Will takes a job for a crazed ghosts and meets a girl who has the same ability as he does. The more Will gets involved with Mina, the other ghost-talker, the more Alona's sure that something is wrong. Is she just playing the jealous girlfriend? Or is there really something that Minia and her group is hiding? Regardless, the new ghost-talkers are certainly drawing a wedge between Alona and Will.

My Thoughts: Just like with it's predecessor, Queen of the Dead is a great, light, romantic comedy. I read this book within 24 hours and loved it. The plot gets thicker as Alona and Will's lives become more and more difficult and a whole new set of characters are introduced, while revitalizing some old ones... It's a great read if you're looking for something quick and fun.

My Rating: 4/5 Ghost-Talkers
GoodReads Rating: 3.96 Stars

Teaser Pleasers:
-Will Killian is a surprisingly good kisser. I mean you'd never know it by looking at him. He's perpetually pale with scruffy black hair, a seriously questionable wardrobe, and an attitude that makes Eeyore look like a ray of sunshine.


-I know: creepy, right? The elderly have invaded Facebook. That is just wrong in so many ways.

Tuesday, February 21, 2012

"The Ghost and the Goth" by Stacey Kade

It's your typical high school. Cheerleaders, the popular crowd, the goths, the nerds and wannabe's... and of course, the ghosts.

Synopsis: Alona Dare was the "it" girl. She was beautiful, popular, rich, and a cheerleader. Then she got hit by a bus. Now, she can't figure out how to get to the afterlife. She wakes up every morning next to a big yellow school bus and exhaust fumes with the same gym clothes on that she wore when she died. She watches as all her friends move on without her, including her best friend and boyfriend. Life Death sucks. Until she catches Will Killian laughing at her. Because if he can laugh at her, he can see her. Now Will's got the dead cheerleader bugging him for help while he tries to convince his mom and therapists that he's not crazy. Of course, it would be easier if the evil spirit that has been attacking him for months would go away and stop shoving him down every time they meet. Then again, if he can't figure out how to escape it, it might just take him and Alona out before anyone has a chance to lock Will up in a nut house.

My Thoughts: If you like romantic comedies, you'll love The Ghost and the Goth! It's a fun, light read that will have you laughing in no time. The story is told in alternating POV's (points of view) and it flows naturally with two opposite, but perfect for each other, characters. Will is definitely worthy of my fictional boyfriend list, and Alona is hilarious as she tries to understand what being "nice" really means. What I really loved about Alona's character is that even after death she sticks to who she really is- the shallow cheerleader. However as the story goes on, we learn why Alona is the way she is, and we start to see small changes in her that make you love her. Most stories have that cliche cheerleader that turns sweet in no time, Alona has to really work for it and I love it. The story was great and kept you guessing, which is something I always love, and it's not drug out. In the end, I loved it, and I can't wait to read the next book in the series!

My Rating: 4/5 Dead Cheerleaders
GoodReads Rating: 4.03 stars

Teaser Pleasers:
-"I cleared my throat, trying to drag my eyes away from the sight. What can I say? I'm a leg man."
-"She lifted a shoulder. 'What, I have a thing for white, even teeth, okay? It's not a big deal,' she said, shifting her arms across her chest."

Thursday, February 16, 2012

"The Battle of the Labyrinth" (Percy Jackson & The Olympians #4) by Rick Riordan

Synopsis: In his fourth battle, Percy goes underground with friends Annabeth, Grover, and half-brother Tyson to sort through the twists and turns of a labyrinth that could hold the key to their victory against evil Titan lord, Kronos. But navigating the labyrinth isn't easy, and if they hope to survive it they are going to need help from some unusual allies.

Not only is Percy having to deal with demi-god problems (like the fact that his life is constantly in danger), but as he gets older the more adolescents throws on him too. Like how he feels about his best friend Annabeth, or his new mortal friend Elizabeth Dare. Life definitely isn't easy for a teenage hero.

My Thoughts: As with the rest of this fantastic series, all I have to say is it's wonderful. The absolute next best thing to Harry Potter. This fourth installment kept me on my toes and it never gets old or boring. Definitely worth your time!

Extra Comments: If you would like to check out the Percy Jackson series, you can find all five books in this great boxset at Barnes&Noble.com for $20.00! So cheap for such excellent books! Here's the link: Percy Jackson Box Set.

If you have done read Percy Jackson, I recommend the Pendragon Series by D.J. MacHale. The are just as amazing and filled with adventure!

Updates from The Lux series!

Jennifer L. Armentrout (author of Obsidian) updated her blog today talking about some new changes that are happening in The Lux series. The first, is the big cover reveal for Onyx:


Personally, I love it. It's darker, and I think this is giving us more insight into what book two is going to be like.
The next big update was that the release date has been pushed back (August 14, 2012), but for good reasons. Onyx will be available in Mass Market, which means it will be sold locally at Barnes & Noble. Yay for Jennifer getting more press!

Now for the good news: there is an excerpt of Shadows up! Here's the link, enjoy!

Monday, February 13, 2012

Quotation Monday

Quotation Monday is something I've come up with to share some of my favorite quotes from really great novels, movies, lyrics, etc.

In honor of Valentine's Day I'm going to be sharing TWO quotes. One for those Pro Valentines Day and one for those of of you that are Anti-V-Day.

The first comes from none other than the novel Eclipse. I hear romance and automatically think of Edward Cullen. Also, I had to give Twilight some mention since Breaking Dawn Part 1 was just released on DVD Friday. 


"Before you my life was like a moonless night. Very dark, but there were stars- points of light and reason. And then you shot across my sky like a meteor. Suddenly everything was on fire, there was brilliancy, there was beauty. When you were gone, when the meteor had fallen over the horizon, everything went black." -Edward Cullen

A lot of people claim to hate Twilight, and hey, to each their own, but for me, I will always love it. No matter how much of a fad it becomes it's still epically romantic. And I'm definitely one of those Pro-Valentine's-Dayers.

The next quote comes from Cassandra Clare's City of Glass and is for those of you who loathe Valentine's Day and all of it's partcipants.

"Unfortunately, you never really hate anyone so much as someone you once cared about."- Jace Wayland.

If you want a difficult romance that is on the verge of impossible, then you should definitely check out Clary and Jace from the Mortal Instruments series. Their relationship is never easy.

Saturday, February 11, 2012

"The Titan's Curse" (Percy Jackson & the Olympians #3) by Rick Riordan

Percy's third adventure awaits in The Titan's Curse were he teams up with a whole new sit of allies.

***Warning: Spoilers for books 1 & 2 of the Percy Jackson series ahead***

Synopsis: Percy is finally getting the hang of this hero stuff: he's on a mission to rescue two, young, demi-god children at a prestigious military school... but first, he's gotta get a ride from his mom. Soon though Percy and his friends (Annabeth, Grover, and Thelia) realize that this mission isn't quite as simple as they thought it would be. The Titan lord Kronos has set up a trap, quickly kidnapping Annabeth. Along with the disapperance of the goddess Artemis, the demi-god world is in danger. Chiron puts together a team of heroes to discover the truth and hopefully rescue Annabeth in the process. The only problem is, Percy's not part of the team. Will he stand by while the others go on this important quest? Can he stand by while Annabeth is in danger? Of course not, he's Percy.

My Thoughts: The Titan's Curse is the best book in the series yet! The action is amped up and there's more at stake then ever. We met new heroes like Thelia and Artemis's gang of Hunters.The plot twists and turns leaving you turning pages until you've reached the end. And as Percy tries to sort out his feelings for his friends and the gods, you get sucked in more and more. This is one series that you do not want to miss out on!

My Rating: 5/5 Heroes

Wednesday, February 8, 2012

"The Sea of Monsters" (Percy Jackson & The Olympians #2) by Rick Riordan

Percy Jackson is in for his second adventure as a half-blood, and this time he's following in Odysseus footsteps!

***Warning: Spoilers for The Lightening Thief Ahead!***

Synopsis: Percy Jackson, son of the sea god, Poseidon, is about to embark on his second adventure. His best friend, Grover, is in trouble and it's up to Percy and Annabeth to save him, with the help of new-comer, Tyson, who just happens to be a baby cyclops. But saving Grover isn't easy. This time, Percy is learning first hand exactly what legendary hero Odysseus went through as he travels to The Sea of Monsters.

My Thoughts: Another fantastic read from the Percy Jackson series! It just keeps getting better, and book two is even more epic then the first! There's never a dull moment with Percy, Annabeth, and Grover. The writing is superb, the characters unforgettable, and the story amazing! If you loved Harry Potter, than you will love Percy Jackson. I highly recommend this series to everyone!

My Rating: 4/5 Cyclopes!

Tuesday, February 7, 2012

Tuneage Tuesday


"Tuneage Tuesday" is where I will be posting some of my new favorite songs. Sometimes they'll be connected with a book or a series, and sometimes they're just stuck in my head randomly. Either way, new music is always good :]

This weeks tune is:
I Found A Reason covered by Cat Power
(Originally done by The Velvet Underground)


Where You've Heard It: Cat Power's version appears in two movies and gets a special mention in one series: 
 V for Vendetta-Starring Natalie Portman. It is also an amazing graphic novel.


The indie film Dandelion- starring Mad Men's Vincent Kartheiser.


 And in Jessica Verday's The Hollows trilogy in book three.


Why I Love It: It's the ultimate romantic song. Ever.

Monday, February 6, 2012

Quotation Monday

"Quotation Monday" is something I've come up with to share some of my favorite quotes from really great novels, movies, lyrics, etc.

Today's quote comes from Courtney Crumrin and the Night Things, a graphic novel series.

"As far as I can tell, we, the geeks have won. We're smarter, we're independent, we're more courageous, and we value each other more than the kids who fit in without effort, blending in and never really getting to know themselves. Sure it'll be a rough eight or ten years but at the end of it, you'll be a conscious, brilliant, confident woman, with a loving, like-minded community and your own unique style. It's worth the pain you feel right now. Trust me. And grown-up geek boys do make the best partners."

Sunday, February 5, 2012

"The Lightning Thief" (Percy Jackson & the Olympians #1) by Rick Riordan

What happens when all those Geek epics with their ancient gods collide and become apart of our modern world? Meet Percy Jackson and find out.

Synopsis: Heroes abound in Rick Riordan's children's series, Percy Jackson & the Olympians. Twelve year old Percy Jackson is your average trouble maker. He's been to six different schools in the past six years, and he is this close to being kicked out again. His ADHD and dyslexia aren't helping matters any either. And now, to top of everything else, Percy's either gone crazy or his world is about to be turned upside down when his pre-algebra teacher turns into a monster and attacks him. Soon Percy finds out all the Greek legends he learned in school may not be myths after all, in fact, the Greek gods do exist and one of them is connected to Percy in a big way and needs his help. The problem? If Percy is going to be a hero is this new world he's discovered he's got to deal with the consequences, because most heroes end up as tragedies.

My Thoughts: I've always been a big fan of children's adventures: Harry Potter, Pendragon, the Chronicles of Narnia... they all hold a special place in my heart. So when I discovered Percy Jackson I completely fell in love again. Rick Riordan captures something special in this series, the complexity of childhood. Percy Jackson is as lovable as Harry Potter and just as unique. What I loved about this book was the awesomeness of the Greek mythology thrown in with the modern world. Have you ever wondered what Ares would look like if he was to come to your local dinner for a bite to eat? He'd be riding a motorcycle complete with a leather jacket, of course! Not only was the mythology cool, but throw in Percy as a young,current Odysseus and his companions and you have for one amazing read.

My Rating: 4/5 Greek gods

Sunday Series Spotlight: The Darkest Powers


My Friend Kate over at Epic (Chocolate) Fantasy hosts Sunday Series Spotlight. There have been a ton of great books that I have read before starting this blog, or even joining Good Reads, that I'm just dying to share with everyone else!

This Sunday's Series Spotlight is on...

The Darkest Powers Series by Kelly Armstrong

Synopsis: Chloe Saunders use to be pretty normal, until she woke up seeing the dead. Thinking she's mentally unstable her father sends her to the Lyle House,  a group home for troubled teens. There she meets Liz, Tori, Rae, and brothers Simon and Derek. However, Chloe soon finds out that not everything is as it seems at the house. In fact, her father may have just sent her into the most dangerous place possible.

Why I Loved It: The Darkest Powers Series was fast paced, and original. Nothing was as it seemed and it kept me reading until the wee hours of the morning- not because I was frightened of the freaky ghosts that haunted Chloe or anything though... okay, maybe a little. It was creepy to the extreme and kept me guessing until the very end. I would highly recommend this series!

Thursday, February 2, 2012

"The Dark and Hollow Places" by Carrie Ryan

Zombies! Zombies! Zombies! ...Oh, and you know, the survival of the human population.

*Warning: Spoilers for "The Forest of Hands & Teeth" and "The Dead Tossed Waves" ahead.*

Synopsis:
In Carrie Ryan's third installment of her Zombie book series we met Annah, Gabry's scarred twin sister. Annah's life has been the same ever since her "brother", Elias, left three years ago to join the recruiters. Every day Annah wakes up with the sole intention of surviving in the Dark City and waiting on Elias's return home. That is, until she meets Catcher, who makes Annah want to drop the guard down that she's been holding for so long. But Catcher's immunity to the disease forces him to always be on the run and in hiding from the recruiters who seek to use him. If they catch him, they can use Annah as insurance to make sure Catcher will always come back and keep them supplied. Now Annah and Catcher have two enemies: The Recruiters and the Zombies. Even if they do beat the recruiters, Annah wonders if it's worth living in a world with a war they can't win...

My Thoughts:
I LOVED IT!!! I have always been a big fan of this series and it's just gotten better and better with each book. This last one had me on edge and reeling with each new discovery. Annah has been the best narrator yet. The action is superb and Annah's bad-ass-ness doesn't take crap from anyone, not even Zombies. I love her relationship with Catcher because it is so honest and real. Their chemistry is fantastic. This book had a quality to it that was just... breathtaking. With each book I've stayed up into the wee hours of the morning waiting on Zombies to scratch at my bedroom window to try and  "infect" me. At one point while reading this one, I screamed when my mother scared me by just walking into my room. It's intense and wonderful and I highly recommend this amazing series!

My Rating: 5/5 Teeth Gnashing Zombies

Teaser Pleasers:
  • Catcher laughs, an awful sound full of bitterness and fury. "As far as you're concerned it means I'm God."
  • "Look at me!" I rip off my coat and then my shirt until I'm just wearing a tank top, my skim on fire from rage.
  • Dead fingers wrap around my ankle and I know that any second I'll feel the hard ridge of teeth...


Interview With Author Jennifer L. Armentrout

So as most of you know from my page, or earlier posts, I'm a huge fan of Jennifer L. Armentrout's Lux Series. Obsidian is book one, and the prequel, Shadows will be out February 21, followed by book two Onyx on May 15. If you haven't read Obsidian I strongly suggest you do so! It's amazing and the characters are wonderful. It's not your average YA PNR at all. Kat, the heroine, has a wicked awesome vocabulary that is reminiscent to us everyday girls. There was no cliche when it came to Katy, because she was so normal, but not in a boring way, in a way that made her easy to relate to. The chemistry between her and Daemon is hot. And even though the story focuses mainly around them, the other characters do not get pushed to the side. Everyone is well-rounded and loveable... well, maybe not everyone, but you're suppose to love to hate them. The plot was so original and gripping and I can't wait to get my hands on the rest in the series!

So with my love of this book over flowing I got my courage together and sent an e-mail to it's author asking her to do an interview for this blog... and she said YES! I've been over the moon for two days. Here is our interview and I hope you all enjoy!


"Thank you so much for doing this!"
-Thanks for having me!

I just recently read Obsidian and as soon as I was finished I added it to my "Favorites List". Where did you come up with the idea for aliens? Was this something that has always fascinated you or were you trying to distance yourself from the usual "creatures" in the YA paranormal romance genre (like Vampires, Werewolves, Shifters, etc)?
-Actually, I never considered writing about aliens. I mean, come on... aliens? My editor actually asked if I could come up with something about aliens in high school and at first, I laughed and was like no. Then I started thinking about it and thought wow this could be unique. The rest is history.

On one review in Amazon, Obsidian is considered a cross between the shows Roswell and Dawson's Creek; did you ever watch either of these TV shows?
-I think that was the RT Review. I watched Dawson's Creek during the first year or so, but I think I only caught one episode of Roswell. I remember a hot guy with dark and that was about it. My editor is an uber fan of Roswell though.

My favorite character is Daemon (who has now replaced Edward Cullen as my number 1 fictional boyfriend), who was your favorite and the most fun to write about from this series?
-Haha. Daemon would be proud to hear that. I'd have to go with Daemon as being the most fun. He's a lot more layered than what he appears, so he can be a bit complicated to write. Not to mention his character walks that fine line between being a complete douche and a loveable douche =)

Did you have to do any kind of research while writing Obsidian? And if so, what was the most interesting thing you learned while doing it?
-Yes. I have a Google degree in mineralogy and physics as it refers to light reflection and refraction and how wavelengths are affected by certain stones. All of that is real in the series believe it or not.

One of the things I love about Obsidian is Kat's vocabulary. Did you mold her after someone in your personal life or from yourself in anyway?
-Katy has a lot of my own vocab and I did mold her after some of the bloggers I've interacted with. Personally, I dog ear books all the time (GASP!), so I gave her some traits of a blogger and book lover.

On my blog I have a weekly post called "Tuneage Tuesday" where I share one of my favorite songs of the week that usually relates to a book in some type of way. Is there a song out there that you would consider the "theme" song to Obsidian or that you could see being played in a scene from the book?
-Everyone picks ET by Katy Perry. It's rather fitting.

How many books total will there be in the Lux Series?
-As of right now, three books plus a novella.

What kind of environment do you prefer when you're working on a novel? Does everything have to be quiet or do you have to have some type of noise?
-I like background noise, but cannot stand when someone is talking to me when I'm writing.

Since I was in 2nd grade, I've always wanted to be a writer. Did you always want to write or was there a time when you wanted to be something different?
-Yes. I always wanted to be a writer as cliche as that sounds. For a time being, I also wanted to be a criminal profiler too.

What is the best advice you could give to someone who does aspire to become an author?
-Read and write, rinse and repeat. In the world of writing, practice makes the closest thing to perfection.

Besides your own, what is your favorite book?
-Right now? I am loving the Soul Screamers series by Rachel Vincent.

And finally, do you believe aliens exist?
-I think it's arrogant of us to assume that in a vast, never-ending universe that goes on and on, that we are the only intelligent life form. Now, if only they looked like Daemon and crew...
_________________________________________________________________


I couldn't agree with her more! 

Here is the Katy Perry "ET" video Jennifer mentions:


Wednesday, February 1, 2012

2013 Challenges

2013 Goodreads Reading Challenge:

At least 50 books this year. I know, it's not a lot (last year I read 90). But life is going to be crazy busy this coming year so if I can get 50 in I'll be doing good!


2013 Reading Challenge

2013 Reading Challenge
Sonnie (Future Mrs.Eric Northman) has read 7 books toward her goal of 50 books.
hide


Take Control of Your TBR Pile!