Friday, April 27, 2012

"Fifty Shades of Grey" by E.L. James

Title: Fifty Shades of Grey
By: E.L. James
Series: Fifty Shades of Grey Trilogy
Publication: May 26, 2011 by The Writer's Coffee Shop
Format: Kindle
Genre: Adult/ Fan-fiction/ Erotica
Cover Rating: 4/5

From Goodreads: When literature student Anastasia Steele is drafted to interview the successful young entrepreneur Christian Grey for her campus magazine, she finds him attractive, enigmatic and intimidating. Convinced their meeting went badly, she tries to put Grey out of her mind - until he happens to turn up at the out-of-town hardware store where she works part-time. 


The unworldly, innocent Ana is shocked to realize she wants this man, and when he warns her to keep her distance it only makes her more desperate to get close to him. Unable to resist Ana’s quiet beauty, wit, and independent spirit, Grey admits he wants her - but on his own terms. 


Shocked yet thrilled by Grey's singular erotic tastes, Ana hesitates. For all the trappings of success – his multinational businesses, his vast wealth, his loving adoptive family – Grey is a man tormented by demons and consumed by the need to control. When the couple embarks on a passionate, physical and daring affair, Ana learns more about her own dark desires, as well as the Christian Grey hidden away from public scrutiny.


Can their relationship transcend physical passion? Will Ana find it in herself to submit to the self-indulgent Master? And if she does, will she still love what she finds?

My Thoughts: Unless you've been hiding under a rock for the past month, then you have probably already at least heard or seen this series in passing. But, in case you have been living under said rock, let me give you a warning: This book is ADULT. What does that mean exactly? It means that if you don't know what BDSM is then you probably shouldn't read it. And no cheating- don't go look it up either!

When I first started this book I was completely aware of what it was: originally, an erotic fan-fiction of Twilight. Before this, I had never read an erotic novel or a piece of fan-fiction, so I tried my best to go into it with an open mind, and I think for the most part I did. What I discovered was that it had it's good parts and it's really bad parts.

So, as always, let's start with the good: The psychology behind this novel is original, intense, and captivating. Christian Grey has some serious issues- and not because he's way kinky. His past haunts him and he keeps it tightly wrapped away in the dark where no one can find it. This is what really kept me reading the book. I had to know what happened to Christian to make him who he is.

The bad: E.L. James gave an interview on NBC were she said "I'm not a great writer." Well, I agree with her. At best, it was mediocre. I say this for two reasons:

1. I often felt the flow of the novel was bumpy and dull.
2. It's fan-fiction.

Now, before I have a crap ton of people biting my head off let me just say I have NOTHING against fan-fiction. But, and this is a huge but for me, if you are looking to get something published don't just change the names of the characters, add in a new plot point, and throw in some sex to an already published novel at an attempt to make it your own "original" work. To me, that's theft. I say this, because there were so many scenes in the book that made me have that deja-vu flash-back to Twilight feeling. The characters are pretty much a spicier version of Edward and Bella.

This isn't to say the book was completely un-original. The friskier bits were very descriptive and I'm sure Erotica fans around the world will be thrilled with those scenes. They were extra steamy and hot and completely enjoyable.

Overall, I thought the book was okay. I'll finish the series, but I don't get the hype over it yet.

My Rating:

Thursday, April 19, 2012

On Hiatus

Hi guys!

I have a lot going on in the next two weeks! A LOT! My final exams are coming up and as some of you have probably experienced yourself, professors like to throw in all the last minute assignments they can before they hand out that last little blue book that will set you free for the summer. Also, I'm starting a new job (go me!) and I'm getting prepared to move out of my parents house and finding a place with my wonderful boyfriend.

Basically, all this boils down to one thing: I'm going on hiatus for a little while. I'm hoping it won't be longer then a week, but it may be two. Anyway, here are some good things I have coming up for everyone:


  1. Reviews: The Iron Knight, Fifty Shades of Grey, and Fifty Shades Darker
  2. A Blog tour featuring an interview with author Heather Ostler and a review of her new book "The Shapeshifter's Secret"!
  3. Another in the works blog tour featuring some of my favorite GReeps (Goodread's friends)!
  4. And the best part? Well, I'm 11 people away from 100 followers! And because I have a job, I'm going to be hosting my very first give-a-way! 
So check back frequently and I'll be back soon! Hope you are all getting ready for the summer! I know I sure am!

Friday, April 13, 2012

Follow Friday #4


Follow Friday is a weekly meme hosted by Alison Can Read and Parajunkee. They ask a question in which you answer on your own blog, and then you link back up with them. After you post, you can go back to the other links to discover new blogs and friends!

*Feel free to follow me on any (or all) of the networks found on the right sidebar. Let me know in a comment how you are following me and put in your own blog link so I can follow you back the same ways :)

Q: What is one book that you would be nervous to see a movie adaptation of because you think the movie could never live up to the book?

I'm always thrilled when I hear about a book being made into a movie. I already know that I'm going to love the book more, but I'm usually pretty good at seperating the two enough to enjoy both... unless they just totally botch it up. But I guess I am a little nervous (and excited) to hear about The Mortal Instruments being made into movies. I really wanted Alex Pettyfer to play Jace, but I guess we can't have it all! And this picture I found of Jamie Bower is very yummy.

Thursday, April 12, 2012

Dirty Little Secret #2


Dirty Little Secret is a weekly meme hosted by the lovely ladies over at Under the Covers. Every Thursday they ask a question hoping to reveal other bloggers "dirty little secrets"!

If you had 600 million dollars to spend, what would be the first thing you bought?


If I had 600 million dollars, the first thing I would do is build a secluded house way out in the woods. It would be a HUGE (but pretty) brick mansion. The outside would have a lovely garden, that of course would be the perfect place to read, and a deep swimming pool. Inside, I would have my own library with shelves so high you would have to use a latter! 
...Then, I would buy a jet to Alexander Skarsgard's house and ask him to come live with me!

Sunday, April 8, 2012

Top 5 Best of 2012 1st Quarter Blog Hop!

My Reading Addiction


Top 5 Best of 2012 first Quarter Blog Hop is being hosted by My Reading Addiction! This blog hop is all about the top 5 books we've read this far in 2012.

So far, I've read 34 books since January. So many of the books I have picked up this year have honestly been 5 star quality. Alas, there can only be 5 though! So here's my TOP picks so far from this year:

1Obsidian by Jennifer L. Armentrout. This was my very first into to Mrs. Armentrout's fantastic writing skills, and boy, was I NOT disappointed! I devoured Daemon this book! 

2. Forbidden by Tabitha Suzuma. Talk about amazing, this book had me crying well past midnight reading it. A gut wrenching story, this book is definitely not for everyone, but if you can handle it, it is beyond worthy of your time!



3. The Iron Daughter by Julie Kagawa. I just recently started this series in the last two weeks, and while I really enjoyed the first one, the second book blew me away! It wonderful and I really think the writer found her niche in this one!

4. Clockwork Prince by Cassandra Clare. Reading about Shadowhunters will almost guarantee you a great read (as long as it's by Cassandra Clare). This sequel to The Infernal Devices had me flipping pages all day long.

  5. The Dark and Hollow Places by Carrie Ryan. I have to say, this last book in the trilogy has to have been my favorite. I was weary when I first picked them up and found out that each book contained a new narrator, but I loved it. This last book was fantastic and well deserving in my Top 5.






And there's my Top 5! It was hard to choose and some of them came really close! What are your top 5 that you've read this year?!

Saturday, April 7, 2012

"Summer's Crossing" by Julie Kagawa (Iron Fey #3.5)

Title: Summer's Crossing
By: Julie Kagawa
Series: Iron Fey
Publication: June 1, 2011 by Harlequin Teen
Format: E-Book (Kindle)
Genre: YA Novella- Fantasy
Themes: Fae
Cover Rating: 5/5 Stars

From Goodreads: A Midsummer's Nightmare? Robin Goodfellow. Puck. Summer Court prankster, King Oberon's right hand, bane of many a faery queen's existence—and secret friend to Prince Ash of the Winter Court. Until one girl's death came between them, and another girl stole both their hearts. 

Now Ash has granted one favor too many and someone's come to collect, forcing the prince to a place he cannot go without Puck's help—into the heart of the Summer Court. And Puck faces the ultimate choice—betray Ash and possibly win the girl they both love, or help his former friend turned bitter enemy pull off a deception that no true faery prankster could possibly resist. 

My Thoughts: I don't know how Julie Kagawa does it, but she packs big punches in small novellas! Summer's Crossing is told from none other than Robin Goodfellow's POV, and it is told wonderfully! There is no dislodgement in this book from the character we have all come to know and love by the name of Puck. What I mean by that is, the narration stays true to Robbie, except we get to see more inside of his head than ever. It seems like it would be a risky move to alternate POV in a series where the only narrator we have had is Meghan, but Julie K. pulls it off, as so few authors can. 

I loved being able to see inside Puck's head and finding out what he really felt when it came to Ash and Meghan. Sure, he's a prankster, but even he can feel the bitter disappointment of unrequited love. This novella was so engaging as I read through its pages trying to discover if Puck would take the high road and help Ash, or if he would betray him, leaving Meghan for himself.

I highly suggest reading both novellas from this series in chronological order. And right now, Summer's Crossing is FREE on Amazon.com for Kindle users!

Teaser Pleaser:
- I blinked innocently. "Why are you looking at me, Lea?" I asked, batting my eyelashes. "Is this the face of such a dastardly villian?"

My Rating:

On My Wishlist #2


On My Wishlist is a weekly meme now hosted by Cosy Up Books where bloggers get the chance to showcase their top books (old or new) on their wishlist! And it's not just books, it can be anything book related!

My wishlist book this week comes from the Paranormal Romance & Urban Fantasy Fanatics group on Goodreads (it's one of our book of the months). The plot just sounds so intriguing and original, not to mention the cover art is beautiful!


From Goodreads: Seventeen-year-old Amy joins her parents as frozen cargo aboard the vast spaceship Godspeed and expects to awaken on a new planet, three hundred years in the future. Never could she have known that her frozen slumber would come to an end fifty years too soon and that she would be thrust into the brave new world of a spaceship that lives by its own rules. 

Amy quickly realizes that her awakening was no mere computer malfunction. Someone-one of the few thousand inhabitants of the spaceship-tried to kill her. And if Amy doesn't do something soon, her parents will be next. 

Now Amy must race to unlock Godspeed's hidden secrets. But out of her list of murder suspects, there's only one who matters: Elder, the future leader of the ship and the love she could never have seen coming.

Friday, April 6, 2012

"The Iron Queen" by Julie Kagawa (Iron Fey #3)

Title: The Iron Queen
By: Julie Kagawa
Series: Iron Fey
Publication: January 25, 2011 by Harlequin Teen
Format/ Pages: Paperback/ 358
Genre: Fantasy/ Paranormal Romance
Themes: Fae
Cover Rating: 3/5

From Goodreads: My name is Meghan Chase.
I thought it was over. That my time with the fey, the impossible choices I had to make, the sacrifices of those I loved, was behind me. But a storm is approaching, an army of Iron fey that will drag me back, kicking and screaming. Drag me away from the banished prince who's sworn to stand by my side. Drag me into the core of conflict so powerful, I'm not sure anyone can survive it.
This time, there will be no turning back.
My Thoughts: Exiled from the Nevernever, Meghan thought she would finally be able to go home again, and with the Unseelie Prince of her dreams too. Unfortunately, things are never that simple for Meghan anymore. In Iron Queen, Meghan begins her third adventure, but this time everything is different- including Meghan.
I felt like this book covered so much, and took me on a brand new adventure. I was afraid I would get bored with this series (I mean, there's only so many times that a girl can go into the Nevernever to fight off some bad fairies), but I found out quickly that I had nothing to be worried about! Meghan transforms in this third installment into someone completely different than who we were introduced to in the first book- as well she should. The half-breed princess has been through hell, and she's got more to go through before it's over. There was just no way she could still be the backwoods, shy, farmer's daughter anymore. She had to get strong and fast. We finally see her pick up her role as a warrior and take some initiative into who she is on her way to becoming. And it's not only Meghan changing, but Ash and Puck as well. Ash took a huge leap when he admitted his love for Meghan in the last book, the wall he put up for the Unseelie Court starts to crumble quickly as he leans more and more on Meghan and their relationship. We get to see who he really is and how much he truly cares for the Summer King's daughter. And while legendary Puck is still the same in his jesting, we get to see a snarky side of him that we never had before. The character development is just really superb in this series! 
The plot was so well thought out- it was perfect by the end. Everything lead up to where the series had been going so far, as Julie K weaved each of the missing pieces together by the last epic scene (and it was epic!).  What I really love about this series though, is the realistic tone of it. Of course, fairies aren't real (or are they? haha), but the way Julie describes each piece of the Nevernever makes it feel like it could be. There's no silly fru-fru in here. It's all battles and adventures and everything you would want out of a non-Disney fairy tale. It's the real deal.
An excellent, engaging series! I can't wait to get my hands on the next novella and the last book! 
Teaser Pleaser:
"When I said I'd follow you to hell and back, I wasn't trying to be literal, princess."
My Rating:

Follow Friday #3



Follow Friday is a weekly meme hosted by Alison Can Read and Parajunkee. They ask a question in which you answer, and then link up with them. After you post, you can go back to the other links to discover new blogs and friends!

Feel free to follow me via any one (or all) of my Networks on the side bar. Let me know in a comment how you are, and with your own blog link, so I can follow you back the same way :)

Q: Have you ever bought a book BECAUSE of a bad review?

I personally have not. In fact, I usually research a book before purchasing it to see just how many bad reviews it has. That doesn't mean that if it has a lot of negative feedback I won't purchase it, but if it's 2 star book on Goodreads, chances are I'm not. It's just not in my budget to splurge on bad books. However, I do have friends on Goodreads who have in fact recently done this! So I know it's not unheard of. 
What about you?

Tuesday, April 3, 2012

Top Ten Books to Read in One Day

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish

1. Go Ask Alice. A quick engaging read, based on a "true" story (depending on who you ask) of a teenager who's life quickly downward spirals after drug abuse.

2. The Summoning by Kelly Armstrong. This book was just one of those that had a hold of me from the beginning, and before I knew it I was turning the last page! Needless to say, I quickly went and bought the second one.

3.Valiant by Holly Black. Short, but filled with adventure, this fairy tale gone wrong was a wonderful quick read. In fact, all three of The Modern Faerie Tales were great, but this one was my favorite.


4. Where She Went by Gayle Forman. The companion novel to If I Stay may possibly be better than the first. It basically happens over a course of one night, making it the perfect one day read!

5.Firelight by Sophie Jordon. Unique with dragon shape-shifters, this book was another page turner!

6. Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone. When I first got my hands on Harry Potter in 4th grade, I didn't put it down the whole entire day. As I've grown up, this hasn't changed. If I'm reading the Harry Potter series, be prepared not to hear from for a week.

7.The Secret Hour by Scott Westerfield (The Midnighters). Short and to the point, The Midnighters is one series that grabs you and takes you into the secret world where some people get a whole extra hour in the day. Must be nice right? Wrong. Because while everyone else is frozen, the dark things come out to play.

8. Courtney Crumrin and the Night Things. Ever wish for a sarcastic heroine in all those comic books? Meet Courtney Crumrin. Witty and adventurous, Courtney is who really got me sucked into the comic book world.

9. Perfect Chemistry by Simone Elkeles. This book was so fantastic, and short. Similar to that of Dirty Dancing, this chick-lit novel will definitely have you finishing it by the end of the day.

10. Twilight by Stephenie Meyer. Unless you've been under a rock, you should know what Twilight is. And at this point, you either love it or hate it. For me, I loved it when I first read the series way back before Robert Pattinson and Kristen Stewart were even thought of as "Edward and Bella". Regardless, for me it was a great one day read and one of my favorites.