Friday, October 26, 2012

"Juliet Immortal" by Stacey Jay

Genre: YA Paranormal Romance
Publication: August 9, 2011
Format: Paperback
Cover Rating: 4/5 Stars

From Goodreads: The most tragic love story in history . . .

Juliet Capulet didn't take her own life. She was murdered by the person she trusted most, her new husband, Romeo Montague, a sacrifice made to ensure his own immortality. But what Romeo didn't anticipate was that Juliet would be granted eternity, as well, and would become an agent for the Ambassadors of Light. For 700 years, she's fought Romeo for the souls of true lovers, struggling to preserve romantic love and the lives of the innocent. Until the day she meets someone she's forbidden to love, and Romeo, oh Romeo, will do everything in his power to destroy that love.

My Thoughts: Did you ever think Shakespeare's story was a little too unbelievable? Well then, Stacey Jay created a spin on the classic tale just for you. Juliet was deceived by her prince charming, Romeo, and now they battle against each other. Juliet for good and Romeo for evil. For each soul mate that exist Juliet must keep them together, while her Romeo tries to tear them apart. Except when Juliet is awoken for this last assignment everything is wrong. Nothing is going as planned, and even worse, Romeo is up to his old tricks and trying to convince her that she must love him once again... or die for good.

This story was everything I expected it to be and more! I finished it pretty much over one night and now I can't wait to get my hands on the companion novel Romeo Redeemed! What I really loved about this novel was how unique the plot was! I mean, there are probably a BILLION versions of Romeo & Juliet. So it seems a little impossible to create something that is so fresh you immediately fall in love with it, but Stacey Jay has done just that! It is truly a fantastic read, with wonderfully interesting characters! Definitely worth your time and money!

My Rating:
Photobucket PhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucket


Wednesday, October 24, 2012

"The Raven Boys" by Maggie Stiefvater

Series: Raven Cycle #1
Genre: YA Paranormal
Publication: September 18, 2012 by Scholastic Press
Format: Kindle
Cover Rating: 5/5 Stars

 From Goodreads: It is freezing in the churchyard, even before the dead arrive.

Every year, Blue Sargent stands next to her clairvoyant mother as the soon-to-be dead walk past. Blue herself never sees them—not until this year, when a boy emerges from the dark and speaks directly to her.

His name is Gansey, and Blue soon discovers that he is a rich student at Aglionby, the local private school. Blue has a policy of staying away from Aglionby boys. Known as Raven Boys, they can only mean trouble.

But Blue is drawn to Gansey, in a way she can’t entirely explain. He has it all—family money, good looks, devoted friends—but he’s looking for much more than that. He is on a quest that has encompassed three other Raven Boys: Adam, the scholarship student who resents all the privilege around him; Ronan, the fierce soul who ranges from anger to despair; and Noah, the taciturn watcher of the four, who notices many things but says very little.

For as long as she can remember, Blue has been warned that she will cause her true love to die. She never thought this would be a problem. But now, as her life becomes caught up in the strange and sinister world of the Raven Boys, she’s not so sure anymore.

My Thoughts: Amazingly creepy! The Raven Boys held my attention on every single word Mrs. Stiefvater produced! I have to admit, I was a fan before though. Previously, I had read books 1 & 2 of her Wolves of Mercy Falls series and loved it (I still haven't read the last book, though). But I have to say... I think I'm going to like this series so much more! Blue Sargent is an awesome, sensible, yet eccentric, heroine that I just want to be best friends with. And the Raven boys? Yeah, they're pretty rad too. Each character has their own distinct personality that you can get completely absorbed in. I have to say, it was some of the best writing I've come across in a while. Completely addicting plot twists, with mystery pouring off of every page, this is one book you will not want to put down!






My Rating:
PhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucket


Sunday, October 21, 2012

The "Official" New ParaDays Blog!

Hi guys!

So, as some of you may have noticed "Lit Girl: Confessions of a Future Librarian" has had a complete make-over!

What's Changed:
  • The Name: Obviously. While I enjoyed "Lit Girl: Confessions of a Future Librarian", I started to feel as if I had outgrown it a little. For one thing, I'm 24- I don't feel much like a "girl" anymore, so much as a "young woman". When I came up with ParaDays, I just thought if fit my blog better. Most of my reviews center around the Paranormal, so I feel as if most of my days are the same :]

  • The Rating System: I like to be different, and while stars get the job done, they just didn't seem very unique to me. Instead, I came up with "Poes"! Edgar Allan Poe has to be my favorite poet ever. So, the more Poe's a book gets, the more POEtential is has!

  • My Blog Button: My button is from a picture I took back in 2008 of a grave-yard. What can I say, I've always been a creepy kid. But at the time, I thought the place held some mystery and I loved it. You can grab my button the right sidebar ------->

  • Zack's Reviews: My lovely and attractive boyfriend, Zack, has agreed to be a guest blogger from time to time and review certain books that he's read. You can expect reviews from such books as: The Walking Dead comics, Dresden Files, and The Lightbringer series. While we have similar taste in books, Zack tends to lean more toward the manly Urban Fantasy genre. You will be able to find his review's specifically on the top of my navigation bar under the header.
  • My Favicon: Which is a little owl, isn't he adorable? 
What's the Same:
  • Reviews: My reviews will never change in content. I will always give my honest opinion of a book, without bashing it, no matter what. I will also never "spoiler" a review, unless otherwise stated in the post (in HUGE GIGANTIC LETTERS). So please, when your commenting keep in mind that most reviews are spoiler free. 
I think that's about it! I love blogging so much, and as I grow, so will this blog- but for now, I'm really digging the new additions so they'll be here for a while!

Thanks for following!


Friday, October 19, 2012

"After Hello" by Lisa Mangum

Genre: YA Romance/ Coming of Age
Format: Kindle via NetGalley
Publishing: September 4, 2012
Cover Rating: 5/5 Stars

From Goodreads: What if the first day of your relationship was the only day you had? 

Seventeen-year-old Sara is a seeker. She’s always on the lookout for the perfect moment to capture with her ever-present, point-and-shoot camera, especially on her first trip to New York City. 

Sam is a finder. He has a knack for finding what other people can’t—a first-edition book or the last two tickets to a sold-out Broadway show. In New York, there is always something interesting to find. 

When Sam and Sara’s paths cross, neither one of them is prepared for what they will find out about each other—and about themselves when they form an unlikely partnership in search of a seemingly elusive work of art. They have one day to find the impossible. Fate brought their talents together, but what happens when time runs out? Will love be able to overcome fate? This new novel from award-winning author Lisa Mangum explores what happens after hello.


My Thoughts: I really enjoyed reading this book! After Hello offered some fresh air to the YA community that you will not want to miss out on. 

Sara and Sam are wonderfully strong characters that you can't help but fall in love with. Their relationship is just something you want to be a part of.  Between their witty bantering, exploring New York, and learning to let go of their pasts- you will find yourself falling deeper and deeper into their world  until your turning the last page at 3:00 am. 

What I really found unique about this novel was that it was "clean", and I usually find those type of novels to be less realistic. However, with After Hello, I didn't even notice it until I got ready to start writing my review. It was just a genuinely good hearted amazing story that I am so happy I picked up to read. Sam and Sara's story will definitely be staying with me for a long time.

After Reading This, Check Out...
My Rating:
PhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucket

Follow Friday #10


Follow Friday is a weekly meme hosted by Alison Can Read and Parajunkee. They ask a question, in which you answer on your own blog, and then you link back up with them. After you post, you can go back to the other links to discover new blogs and friends!

*Feel free to follow me in one or any of the available networks on the right of my sidebar. Let me know in a comment how you are following me and put in your own blog link so I can follow you back in the same way(s)!*

Q: When you step out of your USUAL genre what do you like to read? Best books in that genre?

Hmmm, this is a hard question for me! My usual genre is paranormal-romance. However, I read EVERYTHING. Literally. From auto-biographies to cook books to children's fantasy to comic books to horror to science fiction to mystery. But here's some highlights from my favorite genres:

Horror- Pet Sematary by Stephen King
Comics- Courtney Crumrin & the Night Things
Mystery- Into the Woods by Tana French
Gothic Lit/ Creeptastic- Flowers in the Attic by V.C. Andrews
Classics: Wuthering Heights or Jane Eyre

What about you?

Thursday, October 18, 2012

Short Stories/ Novellas- Yay or Nay?

First of all, I apologize in advance if this post has some serious spelling issue that gets by my spell check- I'm running on zero hours of sleep.

My question for today, though, is: Short stories- love or hate them? Do you think they're pointless? Or are they small packages that contain greatness? Are they worth reviewing? Do you specifically go on searches for a good short story? Or are they things of the past? Antiques that we can treasure but seem pointless to reignite?

Since the beginning of time, I've always loved a good short story- okay, since middle school, anyway, when I read The Lottery by Shirley Jackson (what can I say, I like creepy things). In my opinion, they're are some genuinely awesome and amazing short stories that will stick with me far longer then some full length novels I have read.  However, I would be lying if I said that I went out specifically to find myself a good short story these days. Why? I'm not sure. It's not that I believe it's an outdated notion, I just haven't found a genuinely good short story on my own, outside of the classroom. In a world where anyone can publish just about anything, I've been leery of opening my mind up to the possibilities that there are good short stories out there on amazon for the kindle.

So, why is this on my mind? I aspire to one day write a full length novel (which is always in progress regardless of if it's the SAME novel or not), and I've been considering self-publishing a short-story on Amazon to get some feedback. My concern: is it worth it? Are we in an age were there is still even an audience that appreciates a good short story, or do we now feel like they're a waste of our time?

Wednesday, October 17, 2012

"Pet Sematary" by Stephen King

Publication: November 14, 1983 by Pocket Books
Genre: Horror
Format: Paperback 562 pages
Cover Rating: 2/5

From Goodreads: "Sometimes dead is better...." When the Creeds move into a beautiful old house in rural Maine, it all seems too good to be true: physician father, beautiful wife, charming little daughter, adorable infant son -- and now an idyllic home. As a family, they've got it all...right down to the friendly cat.

But the nearby woods hide a blood-chilling truth -- more terrifying than death itself...and hideously more powerful.

My Thoughts: I am simply TERRIFIED to go to sleep. Much less turn of the lights to do so. This was not my first Stephen King novel- I've read  Rose MadderThe Girl Who Loved Tom Gordon, and Carrie- however this was the first one that gave me serious, spine-tingling chills.

If You've Seen the Movie: I always loved the original movie, and I thought there's no way this book would scare me as much as it did... I WAS WRONG. While the movie follows the novel pretty accurately  there's just something that big screen can't capture that the words do. King pretty much chooses what he wants to describe in his novels, if he thinks it's not important, he's not going to waste his, or your, time on it. So while the reader doesn't get a detailed image (not even a hair color) of the main character, we do get a very descriptive insight on how the character is feeling and, more importantly, what he is thinking. I felt like I WAS Luis Creed. Which was beyond creepy.

If you loved the movie, then you will definitely love the book.

If You've Never Seen the Movie: Louis Creed has moved to Maine with his lovely family- his wife, Rachel, his 5 year old daughter Ellie, and his 2 year old son Gage. The Creed's quickly fit in with the townsfolk and settle down to life the burbs. However, life never stays smooth for long. Behind the Creed home, just down a little path, lies Pet Sematary. A place where kids have buried their deceased pets since the 1900's... it's harmless enough, if not just a little creepy. It's what lies behind Pet Sematary though that's dangerous. Part of an Indian burial ground, God Swamp Land holds a deadly secret... it can resurrect the dead. And Louis Creed is about to find out the price of playing God.

Deadly creepy, this has got to be one of King's SCARIEST novels ever. Even in his author's note he says that this one is by far his most terrifying- even though fans claim it's The Shining. Perfect for your Halloween read! But BEWARE: I am not easily scared. I'm a chick that loves horror movies, zombies, and slasher flicks. However, this scared the crap out of me. I still have on my light and I am cuddled so close to my boyfriends side of the bed that he's endangered of falling off. Make sure you can handle it before attempting to read it! Because once you start, you won't want to put it down, even if your jumping at every little sound!

My Rating:

PhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucket

Tuesday, October 16, 2012

Spoilers. Just Don't.

I have a mini-rant. Actually, it's a huge pet peeve for me. 
Spoilers.
They suck. 

Recently, as in today, someone left a huge spoiler on one of my reviews that pretty much told me the ending to a whole trilogy I've been reading, and it really upset me. 

In all of my reviews I try to be as spoiler-free as possible. I don't give any information away that the book description hasn't already. I do this because I personally hate spoilers. I know there's some weirdos out there that love them (I have a friend that actually Googles spoilers), but for me, it ruins the whole book/ series.  When I'm reading a book, I check out of reality for a while to go some place else. But when I know about something that happens in the book, I start to anticipate it, or dread it, or whatever- and it pulls me out of the book's world.

I won't even read certain blog reviews because I know in the past they contain small spoilers. When I'm reading, I want the book to be all crisp and new to me. I want each page to be a surprise.

Really, it's just a douche thing to do when you say "Hey, did you know that at the end of Deathly Hollows, Harry just dreamed all of that?!"Okay, obviously that is a lie, but you get my point.

Don't be a douche- use spoiler tags: ***SPOILER***

Sunday, October 14, 2012

Ch-ch-changes!

Hey guys, just a heads up "Lit Girl: Confessions of a Future Librarian" is going to be under going some changes (again)!

First of all, the blog will now be known as "Para Days". I just think it suits the blog more.
Second of all, I'm going to be playing around with a lot of different backgrounds, headers, buttons, etc this week. So don't get too comfortable until I announce the new designs officially- because right now it's a disaster!
Third, as far as content goes, nothing will be changing. I may add some new weekly memes along the way, or tabs, but my reviews will stay the same!

Thanks for following!

Friday, October 12, 2012

"Fighting to Survive" by Rhiannon Frater (As the World Dies #2)

Title: Fighting to Survive
By: Rhiannon Frater
Publication: Tor Books on November 8, 2011
Format: Kindle
Genre: Adult/ Zombies/ End of the World
Cover Rating: 5/5 Stars

From Goodreads: Picking up where The First Days ends, Fighting to Survive features the further zombie-killing, civilization-saving adventures of a pair of sexy, kick butt heroines and the men who love them. A hundred or so survivors of the zombie plague have found tenuous safety in the walled off center of a small Texas town. Now the hard work of survival begins—finding enough food; creating safe, weather-resistant shelter; establishing laws; and fighting off both the undead who want to eat them and the living bandits who want to rob and kill them.

My Thoughts: When we last left Katie and Jenni they had finally made it to the "safety" of the Fort. But now the Fort maybe just as dangerous as the outside. Building a new society is anything but easy. The survivors are having to expand their home, which means fighting off more zombies. They're taking on rescue missions to help those stranded close to their town, which means fight off MORE zombies. And of course, they're always fighting off MORE zombies. Oh, and not to mention the fort vigilante AND the bandits who are even worse then the flesh eating dead. Yeah, life is tough.

I loved this sequel! Frater knows how to spin one of the best apocalyptic tales! Unlike the first book though we're not just getting Jenni and Katie's perspective. We're getting a random variety of the survivors and what it's like for each of the key players in re-building their home.Which, in my opinion, definitely gave this story an edge.

If you're a fan of the Walking Dead you will definitely want to check out this awesome trilogy!

My Rating:

Follow Friday #9


Follow Friday is a weekly meme hosted by Alison Can Read and Parajunkee. They ask a question, in which you answer on your own blog, and then you link back up with them. After you post, you can go back to the other links to discover new blogs and friends!

*Feel free to follow me in one or any of the available networks on the right of my sidebar. Let me know in a comment how you are following me and put in your own blog link so I can follow you back in the same way(s)!*


Q: What book do you think would make a great Halloween movie? Please explain in graphic detail of goriness...

Ohhhh there's so many! First would be Rhiannon Frater's "As the World Dies" zombie trilogy! I mean seriously, can you imagine all the awesomeness?!
Second would be Kendare Blake's "Anna Dressed in Blood". I mean one word (for those of you that have read it): The Basement Scene. CREEPY!
Third, Carrie Ryan's "Forest of Hands and Teeth" tril. Another fantastic zombie series that should DEFINITELY be made into a movie.

What about you? What scary books would you love to see turned into a movie?


Sunday, October 7, 2012

FraterFest Updates


Instead of posting two or three times a day, I'm just going to have this one post for all my updates :)

Friday Updates:

Progress: 
I just finished Chapter 3 (It's 2:00 am here and I started thirty minutes ago- give a girl a break ;), and I can already tell Fighting to Survive is going to be just as awesome as book one was! I've missed Katie and Jenni so much, it's unreal. Especially Jenni. I don't know why, but I want to be that girls' best friend! She just seems awesome! 






Challenges:
"Tune That Title" From My Shelf Confessions
"Name That Vampire" from The Fabled Crossroads

Saturday Updates:

Progress: I had to work today, but I'm just in the middle of Chapter 6. It's been slow going, because, well... I'm exhausted! Tomorrow will be filled with more reading time though! Frater sure knows how to put a girl on the edge of her seat!

Challenges: 
FraterBash from Love of Books and here is my post.
Cover Sleuth from Basia's Bookshelf <--This WAS a challenge! I got a few of them, but the others I just couldn't find!

Sunday Updates:

Progress: I am 55% into Fighting to Survive and Frater is still amping up the action and keeping me on my toes! I expect to stay up pretty late tonight to get around 75-80% through with it at least. However, it is 1:00 am, and I have to be in bed by 2:00 (work tomorrow and all).

Challenges:
"Books to Movie Madness" from Books & Beyond I think this was my favorite challenge so far! I love horror movies and I'm fairly certain I got all of these right! Very fun!

I also joined in the Twitter Party (my very first!) and had a great time! Everyone was awesome and I even won a swag pack from our host Kimba!

Monday Updates/ Finale:

Well, like all good things, FraterFest has come to an end. I'm so sad that it's over because I had a blast participating in it and chatting with some wonderful bloggers! If I could change anything it would be to go back in time three weeks ago to ask off for this past weekend at work so I could have been fully immersed in some Zombie Killing Action.

Progress:
So, the question remains, did I finish Fighting to Survive? Alas, I haven't YET. But I will finish it tonight in bed. Most likely. It's not that it wasn't awesome- it totally is- it's that I'm completely exhausted from work and still am going.

Challenges:
"A Texas Crossroad Massacre" from My ParaHangover This was SO much fun! I loved it!
Wrap-Up Give-A-Way from Kimba! Our fantastic host, Kimba, has set up a final wrap-up give-a-way, so don't forget to stop by her awesome blog!

Thanks to Kimba for hosting such an awesome event and to everyone who made the challenges! You guys are awesome and I enjoyed it so much! I hope to do this again next year!

Saturday, October 6, 2012

FraterFest- FraterBash Challenge


Love of Books is hosting the challenge FraterBash! The challenge? Get ready for a party, show us what you would wear, and who your date would be with book covers! Cool idea, uh?

I had some trouble finding what I would wear to the bash (I only have 5 minutes and then I have to start going getting ready for the real world- work agh). But I would love to wear Theia's dress!



And my date would be Patch from the Hush, Hush series!

Friday, October 5, 2012

Fraterfest Read-A-Thon!


Hi guys! So I'm going to be participating in Kimba the Caffeinated Book Reviewer's Fraterfest!
My goal is to read the second book of Frater's As the World Dies trilogy- Fighting to Survive. I know, I know, just one book?! But alas, this read-a-thon fell on a weekend were I have to work like a crazy girl- actual job work and getting the new house up and running work.



Anyway, if you haven't read any of Frater's awesome novels, you are MISSING out! So, grab a book and join us! There's going to be contest and give-a-ways!