Thursday, May 17, 2018

"The Prophecy" by Jennifer L. Armentrout

Series: Titan #4
Genre: New Adult Paranormal Romance/ Mythology
Format: Kindle
Publication: March 2018
Cover Rating: 5/5 Stars

From Goodreads: History is on repeat… 

Seth never thought he’d have a future. But now he’s on the brink of having it all with Josie: A tomorrow. A family. A forever. And all that's standing between him and that forever is the Titans. If he helps Josie entomb them -- without killing them, a nearly impossible task for him -- everything he could ever want will be in reach. But he soon realizes that as a god, every little choice he makes can reshape the world for the better… or worse. And in meddling with the Titans, Seth may have just set into motion catastrophic consequences that will force the Olympians to enter the mortal realm and reshape the delicate balance of power that keeps the world from total collapse.

A price must be paid… 

Entombing the Titans is Josie’s top priority. After all, it was what she was born to do. But the plans her father put into play to help her are no longer an option, and the odds she and Seth face in forging their own path are grim. The escalating violence between halfs and pures only increases the danger closing in on them and their friends. Josie knows their chances of succeeding in their task are slim at best -- and if they fail, they might lose everything. But she also knows she's not fighting just for herself -- she's fighting for the man she loves, for their future, for the world. Together with the Army of Awesome, Josie and Seth will face the unthinkable. And to win this war, the ultimate sacrifice must be made.

For the end is here and the Prophecy will be fulfilled….

My Thoughts: I can't believe this is the end! Ugh, so many tears! SO MANY! This was the absolute perfect ending for not only the Titan series, but also for the Covenant series as well- unless of course, JLA wants to write more (pretty please?). Honestly, I didn't want it to end. I've loved these character so much, way back when I discovered them on Goodreads in 2011. This entire series is so unique that you get sucked in instantly and end up falling in love with all the characters in it. I just can't believe I'm never going to read another Covenant novel! Also, side note: This is definitely a book you want to have emotional support nearby for! And tissues. Lots and lots of tissues!

Okay, okay. So enough moping about it ending. The Prophecy was everything I wanted it to be. Josie is once again our kick butt heroine and Seth is Seth in all his amazing-ness. However, I feel like the characters have really grown up in this final installment and we see that on a new level. And while the Big Bad is still out there (and we do get some serious action scenes), this last book is more focused on wrapping everything up and the emotions behind what has been going on. The gang is on a ticking clock trying to find a way to entomb the Titans once more and nothing is going as planned. While I really loved the entire book, what I was super proud of was Josie. I'm not going to get into any spoilers, but Josie's character goes through so many changes and she has so many things thrown at her, and yet she comes out of it stronger and WISER. She makes the right decisions for her and I was so proud of her character for that. Of course, I think the same can be said about Seth. He's come a long way since his days in the Covenant series for sure.

The bottom line is, JLA is Boss/ Queen and the collection of both the Covenant and Titan novels is one of my favorites and I definitely recommend them to everyone!

My Rating: 5/5 Stars

Tuesday, May 15, 2018

"War Storm" Release Day!!!

Guess what?! It's release day for Victoria Aveyard's War Storm!!! 
Guys, I can not wait to read this book! It's so lovely. I mean, just look at it! And it's HUGE! 672 pages to wrap up everything! I don't know if I can handle it ending! I mean, I can, but what if it's upsetting?! I will definitely be needing some emotional support, I'm sure.  If you didn't preorder it make sure you get out today to buy it! 


"The Dark Calling" (The Arcana Chronicles #5) by Kresley Cole

Series: The Arcana Chronicles #5
Genre: YA Paranormal Romance/ Dystopia
Format: Audible
Narrated: Emma Galvin
Publication: March 2018 (Audible Version)
Cover Rating: 4/5 Stars
Narration Rating: 5/5 Stars

From Goodreads: In a world teetering on the edge . . .
When Evie receives life-changing—and possibly game-changing—news, she has trouble believing it. Why doesn’t she feel any different? Is it possible someone she trusts might be lying?

With enemies at every turn . . .
Tensions seethe inside the castle of lost time as Evie starts to doubt her own sanity. Answers can be found outside their stronghold, but will Death help her find them—or prevent her from learning the truth about her future and Jack’s possible survival?

Darkness beckons. 
A mysterious, sinister power begins to affect the Arcana in its path. Forced out into the wasteland alone, Evie must depend on unexpected allies. But as a battle with Richter looms, can her new alliance defeat the Dark Calling before hell reigns on earth?

My Thoughts: First of all if you haven't read this series stop reading this review right now and go read it (or listen to it, because Emma Galvin is QUEEN and slays narrating this). Seriously, this is one of my all time favorite series ever. Kresley Cole does an amazing job with the world building, the character development, the ROMANCE, and the non-stop action.

Like the previous books, I couldn't stop listening to The Dark Calling. While I wouldn't label this book as a "filler" book, it is definitely leading everything to the end and starting to wrap up the story. However, my mind was still blown away at the plot twists and I was on the edge of my seat throughout the entire thing. We have different POV again, from Aric, Jack and of course Evie, which really helped expand the story and give the characters some more growth. Also, let me just say I have no idea what #team I'm on. Team Jack? Team Aric? Can I be Team Both? Is that possible?! And... I had some serious tears. Like, really. I was cleaning my kitchen listening to this when I screamed out "NOOOO!!!!!" in anguish and scared the crap out of my toddler (don't worry, she's fine). It did break my heart though (no spoilers).  Anyway, I've been waiting on this book FOREVER and it did not disappoint me. I'm just super sad I finished it so quickly and now have to wait for the next one.

As far as the narration goes for the audible version: As I've mentioned above, Emma Galvin slayed it. She has a way of just sucking you right into the story and you completely tune out everything else around you. I'm VERY picky with my audio books. I can't just listen to any narrator and usually have a hard time finding one I love, but Emma Galvin is on POINT, ya'll. She has the best accent for Jack and Aric both. I honestly forget I'm only listening to one person. Definitely can't wait to check out more of her work!

My Rating: 5/5 Stars

Wednesday, May 9, 2018

In My Mailbox #1




This has been a fantastic week for books for me!

So, because it's Mother's Day on Sunday I decided to splurge a little and ordered Sarah J. Maas new book A Court of Frost and Starlight. Actually, I didn't splurge at all because I used my credit card reward points... you know, the one I'm not supposed to be using because I want to pay off my debt 😂 But isn't this cover GORGEOUS (like all SJM's books really).


Queen Jennifer L. Armentrout's new novel, Moonlight Sins, is on sale for Kindle for a $1.99! One word: YUM. 


Picked The Hunger up at the library the other day! After seeing Stephen King's tweet on how disturbing it was, I knew I had to read it.

I have NetGalley to think for this beach thriller read! 


Another NetGalley find that looks super intense! Also, COVER LUST!


So when I opened my e-mail and discovered that I had been approved to read another Riley Sager novel, I completely lost it. Really, I squealed in delight. If you don't know about my love for his last novel, Final Girls, you can check out my review. I am so thrilled and grateful to get to read his new novel in advance! (No original picture of this one because the e-book I have didn't have a cover like most ARC copies).


That's it for this week! Did anyone else get any good reads? If so, post in comments or link up to your own blog post!

Monday, May 7, 2018

"Final Girls" by Riley Sager

Genre: Thriller
Format: Kindle
Publication: July 2017
Cover Rating: 5/5 Stars

From Goodreads: Ten years ago, college student Quincy Carpenter went on vacation with five friends and came back alone, the only survivor of a horror movie–scale massacre. In an instant, she became a member of a club no one wants to belong to—a group of similar survivors known in the press as the Final Girls. Lisa, who lost nine sorority sisters to a college dropout's knife; Sam, who went up against the Sack Man during her shift at the Nightlight Inn; and now Quincy, who ran bleeding through the woods to escape Pine Cottage and the man she refers to only as Him. The three girls are all attempting to put their nightmares behind them, and, with that, one another. Despite the media's attempts, they never meet.

Now, Quincy is doing well—maybe even great, thanks to her Xanax prescription. She has a caring almost-fiancé, Jeff; a popular baking blog; a beautiful apartment; and a therapeutic presence in Coop, the police officer who saved her life all those years ago. Her memory won’t even allow her to recall the events of that night; the past is in the past. 

That is, until Lisa, the first Final Girl, is found dead in her bathtub, wrists slit, and Sam, the second, appears on Quincy's doorstep. Blowing through Quincy's life like a whirlwind, Sam seems intent on making Quincy relive the past, with increasingly dire consequences, all of which makes Quincy question why Sam is really seeking her out. And when new details about Lisa's death come to light, Quincy's life becomes a race against time as she tries to unravel Sam's truths from her lies, evade the police and hungry reporters, and, most crucially, remember what really happened at Pine Cottage, before what was started ten years ago is finished.

My Thoughts: My mind is BLOWN. Every time I thought I knew what was going down in this book I was proven wrong and slammed by another plot twist. Lately I've been devouring thriller novels like crazy. So I feel like I've gotten pretty good at detecting what's going on and who the killer is early on, but Final Girls threw me on a roller coaster ride. This is one of those books that will stay with me long after I've finished it. I'll still be thinking about Quinn, Sam, and the rest of the characters for months to come.

Right now, I'm just too stunned to even know what to say and how to articulate my praise for this book. I mean, I had HIGH expectations for this one. I'm one of those weirdo's who loves slasher films/ novels so when I came across this my first reaction was "Oh yes!" It's right up my alley. But there have been many times where I've thought that before only to be disappointed. Well, obviously that was not the case with Final Girls. If you love a good thriller, or enjoyed the best (in my humble opinion) of the 90's horror genre like Scream you will LOVE this book!

Bottom Line: I'm recommending this one to everyone.

My Rating: 5/5 Stars

Sunday, January 7, 2018

"A Mother's Reckoning" by Sue Klebold

Genre: Memoir
Format: E-Book
Publication: February 2016
Cover Rating: 5/5 Stars

From Goodreads: On April 20, 1999, Eric Harris and Dylan Klebold walked into Columbine High School in Littleton, Colorado. Over the course of minutes, they would kill twelve students and a teacher and wound twenty-four others before taking their own lives.

For the last sixteen years, Sue Klebold, Dylan’s mother, has lived with the indescribable grief and shame of that day. How could her child, the promising young man she had loved and raised, be responsible for such horror? And how, as his mother, had she not known something was wrong? Were there subtle signs she had missed? What, if anything, could she have done differently?

These are questions that Klebold has grappled with every day since the Columbine tragedy. In A Mother’s Reckoning, she chronicles with unflinching honesty her journey as a mother trying to come to terms with the incomprehensible. In the hope that the insights and understanding she has gained may help other families recognize when a child is in distress, she tells her story in full, drawing upon her personal journals, the videos and writings that Dylan left behind, and on countless interviews with mental health experts.

Filled with hard-won wisdom and compassion, A Mother’s Reckoning is a powerful and haunting book that sheds light on one of the most pressing issues of our time. And with fresh wounds from the recent Newtown and Charleston shootings, never has the need for understanding been more urgent.

All author profits from the book will be donated to research and to charitable organizations focusing on mental health issues.

My Thoughts: This is a tough review to write. There's so much I want to say and touch on, but I'm not sure how to put it in a way that someone could understand my feelings without reading the book themselves.

I've always been interested in the Columbine Shooting. It was the first major news event that I can remember seeing, and the first one that actually mattered to me since I was just starting middle school. The news coverage on it was extensive causing the boys who did it to become legends in a way. Off and on I've ran across articles on the shooting throughout the years, but it wasn't until I read Dave Cullen's novel Columbine (original review found here), that I really had some inkling of what happened. What's more, it made me question everything I thought I knew about the murderers and how the media portrayed them- they were goths, they were loners, they were bullied, etc. When the truth is so much more complex than that. After reading Dave's novel and the journal entries the boys wrote, I quickly came to the realization that Dylan Kelbold was not who the media portrayed him to be and that he had a mental illness. That may have been obvious to everyone else, and to a degree I knew that before I read Dave's book... but I don't think I realized that when you stripped away all the other possible "reasons" the boys did what they did you're left with the fact that Dylan was mentally sick.

This is where Sue's book picks up. I feel like this book was her way of saying "Here's what kind of parent I was. I was just like you. I did everything I was supposed to do and I still missed the signs." And I believe her. Sue's book isn't just about her relationship with Dylan, his life or the shooting. It goes deeper than that. It's an in depth look into life after someone you love commits suicide. Of course, in Sue's case it's much worse than that since Dylan's was a murder/suicide.

I was left with so much respect for Sue Klebold after reading this. The way she wrote this book, as a mother who loved her son but also as an apology to all of his victims... it was simply heartbreaking to be put in her shoes. But as I said before, this isn't just about Dylan. This book serves as a reminder to parents everywhere that this can happen to you. The Klebolds were a normal family. The signs of Dylan's depression (when they were there) were subtle and nothing you wouldn't chalk up to being a teenager. It was truly eye opening and it definitely changed some of my views on how I will be parenting my own daughter when she gets to be older.

The bottom line is, I would recommend this book to every parent. I would also recommend that you read Columbine first as it goes into much more detail as to what happened and gives a broader understanding of the event.

My Rating: 5/5 Stars

Wednesday, January 3, 2018

"Bossypants" by Tina Fey

Genre: Nonfiction/ Autobiography
Format: Kindle
Publication: April 2011
Cover Rating: 2/5 Stars

From Goodreads: Before Liz Lemon, before "Weekend Update," before "Sarah Palin," Tina Fey was just a young girl with a dream: a recurring stress dream that she was being chased through a local airport by her middle-school gym teacher. She also had a dream that one day she would be a comedian on TV.

She has seen both these dreams come true.

At last, Tina Fey's story can be told. From her youthful days as a vicious nerd to her tour of duty on Saturday Night Live; from her passionately halfhearted pursuit of physical beauty to her life as a mother eating things off the floor; from her one-sided college romance to her nearly fatal honeymoon—from the beginning of this paragraph to this final sentence.

Tina Fey reveals all, and proves what we've all suspected: you're no one until someone calls you bossy.

My Thoughts: Let me start off by saying I'm not some huge Tina Fey fan. I liked her on SNL and of course Mean Girls is a national treasure, but other than that I haven't really followed anything that she's done. I've never watched 30 Rock or really any other movie that she's been in. But I was in the mood to read some nonfiction and after reading "A Note From the Author" at the beginning of this book and really laughing out loud I decided to give it a shot.

I'm not really sure what I was expecting from Bossypants. Humor obviously, but I also expected something with more substance than what I got. The book IS funny. I laughed out loud so many times while reading it that my husband had to come in and ask me what I was giggling about. But the parts in between the funny bits? It wasn't really anything interesting or that I cared to know about. Maybe if I was some superfan of hers I would have enjoyed it more, but to me it was just kind of... meh. If Tina fey made one of those bathroom joke books, I'd read it because I do think she is funny. Or maybe if she even wrote a fiction novel (since she was the screen writer for Mean Girls). But in all honesty, this was just boring.

My Rating: 2/5 Stars


© Whimsically Bookish. Made with love by The Dutch Lady Designs.