Wednesday, February 27, 2013

"Wait for You" by J. Lynn Cover Reveal


What do early readers have to say about WAIT FOR YOU?

“J. Lynn creates a wonderful cast of characters that will make you laugh, swoon, and cry. Cam stole my heart.” – Cora Carmack, NYTimes and USA TODAY Bestselling Author of LOSING IT

“For the love of all that is Cameron without a shirt on! Wait for You will have you laughing out loud, fanning yourself and anxiously waiting to know what will happen next.” – Molly McAdams, NYTimes and USA TODAY Bestselling Author of FROM ASHES and TAKING CHANCES

“I don't think I have ever read a NA Contemporary novel with as much depth as this one. It really moved me and by the end I was just speechless over how inspirational and uplifting it was as well as being sexy and cute and funny and emotional.” - K Books

“Wait For You is uniquely different from anything else J. Lynn's written but it might possibly be her best work yet.” – Jenuine Cupcakes

“For all of you in love with Aiden and Daemon, PREPARE YOURSELVES! Your heart will have to expand a little more for Cam.” Total Bookaholic

“For the love of all things CAM, this book deserves more than 5 stars.” – Mundie Moms

“I cannot even begin to explain how much I adored this perfectly crafted contemporary.” – Shortie Says

Excited? Ready to see the cover for WAIT FOR YOU?




Synopsis

Some things are worth waiting for…

Traveling thousands of miles from home to enter college is the only way nineteen-year-old Avery Morgansten can escape what happened at the Halloween party five years ago—an event that forever changed her life. All she needs to do is make it to her classes on time, make sure the bracelet on her left wrist stays in place, not draw any attention to herself, and maybe—please God—make a few friends, because surely that would be a nice change of pace. The one thing she didn’t need and never planned on was capturing the attention of the one guy who could shatter the precarious future she’s building for herself.

Some things are worth experiencing…

Cameron Hamilton is six feet and three inches of swoon-worthy hotness, complete with a pair of striking blue eyes and a remarkable ability to make her want things she believed were irrevocably stolen from her. She knows she needs to stay away from him, but Cam is freaking everywhere, with his charm, his witty banter, and that damn dimple that’s just so… so lickable. Getting involved with him is dangerous, but when ignoring the simmering tension that sparks whenever they are around each other becomes impossible, he brings out a side of her she never knew existed.

Some things should never be kept quiet…

But when Avery starts receiving threatening emails and phone calls forcing her to face a past she wants silenced, she’s has no other choice but to acknowledge that someone is refusing to allow her to let go of that night when everything changed. When the devastating truth comes out, will she resurface this time with one less scar? And can Cam be there to help her or will he be dragged down with her?

And some things are worth fighting for…

WAIT FOR YOU is available now!

Amazon and Barnes & Noble

 J. Lynn, also known as Jennifer L. Armentrout, is the USA TODAY Bestselling author of the adult romance Gamble Brothers’ series, the young adult Lux Series and award winning Covenant Series. She pretty much writes everything—contemporary, paranormal, and fantasy. All of her books have one thing in common no matter the name or genre: kissing… and stuff. When she’s not busy writing, which is never, she’s usually hanging out with dog Loki, watching reruns of The Walking Dead, or procrastinating on the Internet. You can find out more about Jennifer by visiting the following websites:

Twitter

Facebook

Official Site




Tuesday, February 26, 2013

Top Ten Authors That I'd Put On My Auto-Buy List



Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.

1. Richelle Mead
I LOVE Mrs. Mead, and I will happily (and greedily) read anything she writes!


2. Stephenie Meyers
Okay, okay. Say what you will, but I enjoyed Twilight when it first came out! And then Hollywood stepped in and ruined it.

3. J.K. Rowling
So I have YET to read Mrs. Rowling's new novel, but I'm hoping to fix that soon! Despite the fact that it has nothing to do with wizards, scars, or the Weasley Twins, Mrs. Rowling knows how to write a captivating novel.

4. Jennifer L. Armentrout
She's awesome to her fans, and her books are like crack. Why wouldn't she be on my auto buy list?!

5. Cassandra Clare.

6. Neil Gaiman
Geez, do I love Gaiman. He's amazingly talented, British, and can tell a story like nobodies business. It doesn't hurt that I have a huge author crush on him, either.

7. Karen Marie Moning
Because she's epically awesome.

8. V.C. Andrews (original- not the ghost writer).
Again, let me say THE ORIGINAL. I hate the ghost writer. They suck. Terribly. Sorry, but it's true. However, the real Miss Andews was creepy and amazing and I would read anything and everything she published.

9. Rachel Vincent
I've only read her Soul Screamers series, but they were so good the rest of her books just automatically went on my TBR shelf.

10. Maggie Stiefvater.













Friday, February 22, 2013

Follow Friday




Follow Friday is a weekly meme hosted by Alison Can Read and Parajunkee. They ask a question, in which you answer on your own blog, and then you link back up with them. After you post, you can go back to the other links to discover new blogs and friends!

*Feel free to follow me in one or any of the available networks on the right of my sidebar. Let me know in a comment how you are following me and put in your own blog link so I can follow you back in the same way(s)!*

We always talk about books that WE want. Let's turn it on its head. What books have you given other people lately?

Anna Dressed in Blood by Kendare Blake
To my lovely GReep friend Britt who had a birthday this month!

Rule by Jay Crownover
Which was featured as a giveaway on my blog! 


Thanks for stopping by! Don't forget to live your links to your own blog and to tell me how you follow ParaDays! Hope everyone has a great weekend!

Wednesday, February 20, 2013


Wishlist Wednesday is a book blog hop, hosted by Pen to Paper, where we will post about one book per week that has been on our wishlist for some time, or just added (it's entirely up to you), that we can't wait to get off the wishlist and onto our wonderful shelves.


Tiger Lily by Jodi Lynn Anderson.

From Goodreads: Before Peter Pan belonged to Wendy, he belonged to the girl with the crow feather in her hair. . . .

Fifteen-year-old Tiger Lily doesn't believe in love stories or happy endings. Then she meets the alluring teenage Peter Pan in the forbidden woods of Neverland and immediately falls under his spell.

Peter is unlike anyone she's ever known. Impetuous and brave, he both scares and enthralls her. As the leader of the Lost Boys, the most fearsome of Neverland's inhabitants, Peter is an unthinkable match for Tiger Lily. Soon, she is risking everything—her family, her future—to be with him. When she is faced with marriage to a terrible man in her own tribe, she must choose between the life she's always known and running away to an uncertain future with Peter.

With enemies threatening to tear them apart, the lovers seem doomed. But it's the arrival of Wendy Darling, an English girl who's everything Tiger Lily is not, that leads Tiger Lily to discover that the most dangerous enemies can live inside even the most loyal and loving heart.

Why I Want It: I have loved all things Peter Pan/ Neverland since I was a kid. When I found out that there was going to be a YA book surrounding the original story, I freaked out. I have yet to find this book on sale though, so I am patiently waiting until I find a used copy from Hastings :)


P.S. Don't forget to enter my giveaway (found here) for a chance to win a Kindle copy of "Rule" by Jay Crownover!


Tuesday, February 19, 2013

Top Ten Favorite Characters

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.

Okay, okay. I KNOW I was suppose to stay in a certain genre, and I tried, but I just couldn't do it. My favorites are all over the spectrum.
In no particular order... 

Fred & George Weasley from Harry Potter by J.K. Rowling
Because they make lovin' gingers fun :]


Puck from The Iron Fey Chronicles by Julia Kagawa.
I love Puck's sense of humor in the Iron Fey books! To me, he was the best of the best in that series.


Jace Wayland from The Mortal Instruments by Cassandra Clare
Seriously, what's not to love about Jace? He's slightly arrogant, funny, and oh so yummy to look at.


Jenni from As the World Dies Trilogy by Rhiannon Frater.
She's been through so much, and yet she is still kick-ass.


Daemon Black from The Lux Series
...er? What was I saying again?

Cas Lowood from Anna Dressed in Blood
He's like the male version of Buffy, but with ghost. You can't beat that.


Annabeth Chase from Percy Jackson and the Olympians

Adrian Ivashkov from Bloodlines (and Vampire Academy)
While I have read all of VA and only the first book in Bloodlines, Adrian has always been my favorite. Adrian > Dimitri any day. Sorry kids.



Ponyboy Curtis from "The Outsiders"
Who doesn't love this classic?! There's just something so honest in Ponyboy, that you have to love him, and his family.

Courtney is an excellent comic book heroine! She is a complete badass, and a geek.

So that's some of my favorite characters! What are yours?!

P.S. Don't forget to stop by my giveaway (found here) for your chance to win a Kindle copy of "Rule" by Jay Crownover!




Monday, February 18, 2013

"Rule" by Jay Crownover (Interview + Giveaway!)



Genre: New Adult
Series: Rule #1
Publication: December 30, 2012
Format: Kindle (327 pages)
Cover Rating: 4/5 Stars    
I had loved Rule Archer since the first moment I ever laid eyes on him. He was everything I shouldn't want and the only person I went out of my way to not try and please. He only saw me as a brat, and an entitled, stuck up princess but worse than that all he saw when he looked at me was his deceased twin's girl. It broke my heart because as much as I had loved Remy Archer there was never anything romantic between us and no matter how hard I tried to convince myself that loving Rule was a terrible idea, my poor heart just wouldn't listen. We tolerated each other, barely and had forged an uneasy alliance until one night I had too much to drink and changed the way we were forever. Suddenly life long secrets were no longer hidden and the one thing I always wanted for myself seemed obtainable as long as I was willing to go through hell to hold onto it.                                                                                                                               Shaw Landon was a class act and I had no idea what to do with her. She was tied to my family, tied to the person that was my other half so I tolerated her and her haughty attitude when I didn't have any other choice. What I didn't know was that a short skirt and too many cocktails on her birthday was going to change my outlook on her for the rest of my life. Some people thought I hid behind all my tattoos and piercings, that I tried to distance myself from my dead twin, Shaw saw through it all and wasn't scared of what was underneath. We weren't supposed to be together, weren't supposed to be anything but uncomfortable acquaintances but that all changed in the blink of an eye. Now I had to figure out just how a girl like her and a guy like me were supposed to be in love without destroying each other. Add in her custom made ex and two disapproving sets of parents and the whole situation sounded like it was more trouble then it was worth.

Review:

           Jay Crownover totally just earned herself a semi-stalker. Seriously, I freaking loved this book. My life has been crazy busy lately, but I managed to down this baby in practically one day. Told in alternating POV, Rule, tells the story of Shaw Landon and her deceased best-friends twin brother, Rule Archer- whom she just happens to be completely in love with (since she was 14). The problem? Rule thinks of Shaw as an uptight, spoiled brat that use to date his dead brother. But one night changes everything, leaving Shaw and Rule on a path that they can never come back from.

           Everything about this book just screamed five stars for me- from the plot, to the character developments, to the AWESOME music that is incorporated in the story- really, it was all fantastic. If you enjoy the New Adult craze, then you will not want to miss out on Rule!

p.s. I've done called dibs on Rule, so don't even think about claiming him as your next book boyfriend! 

Author Interview:


So, I picked up "Rule" on a whim. Like so many others before, I've been rapidly sucked into this New Adult genre, and when I read the descript I just knew I couldn't wait to read it. Did you give any forethought to writing for this specific age group? And if so, why New Adult?

-I wrote in New Adult because when you're in your twenties you're just trying to figure life out and figure out who and what you want to be. I look back on my twenties and realize the choices I made good and not so good landed me where I am today and I wonder how things would be different if maybe I had focused on different things back then. Plus it's a fun time, you can start to drink, you left home, you're just starting to earn really money...all that stuff lends itself to great story telling.

Rule is a hot mess. Seriously. I think every girl out there will have him as their number 1 book boyfriend once they read this. Is he based off someone in particular in your life?

-Physically Rule is based off of a mix and match of real people, emotionally and temperamentally no, he is all fiction. He's just a compilation of a lot of young guys that think they have it all figured out and don't have a care in the world beyond themselves only to get blindsided by something big.


I think you did a freaking fantastic job of switching points of view. Not to sound creepy, but you had that whole guy vibe down pat (which is awesome, because sometimes the character can come off as more feminine then the author intends). Which character did you prefer to write in: Shaw or Rule?

-I work in a bar, have for a long time so I work around men and have a lot of male customers so I think I have a good grasp on the inner workings of the male mind and how they talk and interact with each other. It depends on the scene who I preferred to write the point of view in, they each had a distinct voice so it just depended on who was telling the story that I liked to write in better.

Obviously, your a fan of tattoos, do you have any yourself? What's the most memorable story behind one that you wouldn't mind sharing?

-I have a lot....A LOT!! My favorite is a portrait of my Italian Greyhound Duce because I love him to bits, he's just my best little furry buddy and people think it's weird to have something so permanent of a dog that's still alive!!! But I love it and I love him so whatever!!

For the love of all things holy, when can us book fiends expect "Jet" to be available?

-Jet should be out in May for sure...I have secret hopes to have him finish sooner because he's amazing and won't leave me alone so his story is just cooking right along...but May absolutely.

In the back of "Rule" you have a note saying that you're trying to figure out what to do in life- I think most of us can relate (for example: there's no way in hell I plan on being a secretary for the rest of my life, it's my in-between growing up job). What finally made you decide to tackle writing? What were the biggest hurdles you faced and how did you get past them?

-I wrote to put some really bad stuff I was dealing with in perspective. When my mom read it Rule she could tell exactly at which point in the story was correlating with what I was trying to process in real life. It was a creative outlet that just turned out to be something more important than that. I promised myself I would publish a book before I died and I did that if nothing else.
The hardest part was how angry people got about the editing initially. I didn't anticipate the response to the book so yes the editing sucked at first. I took steps to fix it, but still people were PISSED. That was weird to have a bunch of strangers mad at e about something like that. I just had to be accountable and learn from the mistake going forward. Editors exist for a reason and now they are my new best friend.


And finally, we all know you have awesome music taste from reading "Rule", but what's one your favorite books?

-My favorite book of all time is Catcher in the Rye..Holden Caulfield is the original bad boy of literature. Salinger had a way with words that built the story in a way you couldn't help but live it...I read a lot, I like most of the new adult authors that have been big lately, just give me a good story and a memorable cast and chances are you're on my fav's list.

Giveaway!

Now here's the really fun part! You have a chance to win one KINDLE copy of "Rule" by Jay Crownover! Just fill out the Rafflecopter below!


Friday, February 15, 2013

Follow Friday


Follow Friday is a weekly meme hosted by Alison Can Read and Parajunkee. They ask a question, in which you answer on your own blog, and then you link back up with them. After you post, you can go back to the other links to discover new blogs and friends!

Q: Write a letter to your favorite character. Rant, rave or gush…just pretend like they are real and you just want to let them know a "few things". - Activity courtesy of author, Kelly Walker


Agh! This is a hard one! I have too many favorite characters! How about I do my favorite character so far this year? That makes will narrow it down at least!

Rule



*First of all, I have not YET finished the book. I'm half-way, but I can already tell you it's gonna be a 5 star for me*

Dear Rule,

I love you.
Make hot babies with me.

Love,
Stalker Book Lady.


Okay. So  not the most original, but I'm at work. What can you do?

Anyway, definitely check out this fantastic New Adult read!

And let me knows the ways in which you follow (GFC, Twitter, FB), and I'll be sure to follow you back in the same way(s)!

Thursday, February 14, 2013

"Fire Study" by Maria V. Snyder


Genre: Fantasy
Series: Study #3
Publication: March 1, 2008
Format: Paperback; 441 pages
Cover Rating: 2/5 Stars
Goodreads Link:



When word that Yelena is a Soulfinder—able to capture and release souls—spreads like wildfire, people grow uneasy. Already Yelena's unusual abilities and past have set her apart. As the Council debates Yelena's fate, she receives a disturbing message: a plot is rising against her homeland, led by a murderous sorcerer she has defeated before....

Honor sets Yelena on a path that will test the limits of her skills, and the hope of reuniting with her beloved spurs her onward. Her journey is fraught with allies, enemies, lovers and would-be assassins, each of questionable loyalty. Yelena will have but one chance to prove herself—and save the land she holds dear.
          Sigh. I'm not even sure where to start with this review. I have so many mixed feelings about the latest (and what I thought was the last) installment of this book. Okay, I guess I should begin by saying I really did LOVE this series! It had everything you could want in a novel: adventure, romance, a kick-ass heroine... but "Fire Study" lacked something. I didn't really feel like it could hold it's own against the other two books. A couple of problems I had:


  • Too much was going on. There can come a point in a novel when there's just way too much happening, and you start to feel like you're either ADHD or the author was while writing it. I don't feel like I could appreciate what Yelena was really going through, because I didn't have time to soak it in before something else came along. Which brings me to my next point...
  • Yelena felt robotic. Weird, I know. But I didn't connect to her at all in this story, which is sad because I really do love her character. But I felt like she was just on auto-pilot for the whole novel. It felt like I was reading something that read like this: "She did this, then that, and finally, then this again." I hate to say it, but it was boring.
     Now, does that mean that I totally hated the book? Not at all! Eventually (as in, the very last chapter), I liked it. It did have a fantastic ending, and a lot of questions about Yelena, her power, and the commander were answered. Along with some lingering questions about the oh so swoon-worthy Valek. 
     So, what's my rating? 3/5 stars- with the scale dipping towards 2. But I just couldn't give it that. I loved this series so much,  the story line along made up for the other errors. It's definitely worth your time to pick up this series!

My Rating:
It has POEtential!

PhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucket

Wednesday, February 13, 2013

Take Control Of Your TBR Pile Challenge!



The lovely Kimba over at Kimba the Caffeinated Book Reviewer, is hosting this event! It lasts for the whole month of March! All of us have those books that have been sitting on our shelf for a while (you know the ones, they have that slight coating of dust on them), and it's about time we stopped neglecting them. They're just begging us to please for the love of all that is holy, read them! 

And because Kimba is so awesome, she's even doing a give-a-way! For every book you read, you'll get one entry into a Rafflecopter drawing to win a new 2013 release of your choice! Nice, uh?

Rules:

  • Link-up! This is open to everyone. If you do not have a blog then link your Facebook or Goodreads account. 
  • Beginning March 1st, 2013 and ending March 31, 2013 at midnight read books from your TBR pile ALL books must have been published before March 2013. 
  • Post a review to Goodreads, your blog or Facebook then link it to the Rafflecopter for an entry. 
  • Rafflecopter will close on April 2, 2013 at midnight and a winner will be chosen. Open internationally as long as Book Depository or Barnes and Noble ship to you. Prize: New 2013 release. I will do pre-orders as well. 
  • You can use hastag #TakeControl on twitter and share your progress. Share the Take Control Button or this post on your blog, Facebook or twitter to earn an extra entry for each place you share. (Rafflecopter will post March 1st, so be sure and enter them)

Updates:

1. Beautiful Creatures finished March 4th.

Tuesday, February 12, 2013

Wishlist Wednesday #2


Wishlist Wednesday is a book blog hop, hosted by Pen to Paper, where we will post about one book per week that has been on our wishlist for some time, or just added (it's entirely up to you), that we can't wait to get off the wishlist and onto our wonderful shelves.


"Shadows in the Silence" (Angelfire #3) by Courtney Moulton.

From Goodreads: 
Your strength in heart and hand will fall. . . .Ellie knows that the darkest moments are still to come, and she has everything to fight for:

She must fight for Will.

The demonic have resorted to their cruelest weapons to put Will in mortal danger, and Ellie makes an unlikely alliance to save him and to stop Lilith and Sammael, who seek to drown the world in blood and tear a hole into Heaven.

She must fight for humanity.

As the armies of Hell rise and gather for the looming End of Days, Ellie and her band of allies travel to the world’s darkest and most ancient regions in her quest to come into her full glory as the archangel Gabriel.

And Ellie must save herself.
Her humanity withers beneath the weight of her cold archangel power, but Ellie must hold tight to who she is and who she loves as she prepares for the ultimate battle for Heaven and Earth.

Why I Want It: I absolutely LOVE this series! It's so unique and original. I can't wait to find out what happens to Ellie and Will!


Cover Reveal

"Faking It" (Losing It #2) by Cora Carmack


Mackenzie “Max” Miller has a problem. Her parents have arrived in town for a surprise visit, and if they see her dyed hair, tattoos, and piercings, they just might disown her. Even worse, they’re expecting to meet a nice, wholesome boyfriend, not a guy named Mace who has a neck tattoo and plays in a band. All her lies are about to come crashing down around her, but then she meets Cade.

Cade moved to Philadelphia to act and to leave his problems behind in Texas. So far though, he’s kept the problems and had very little opportunity to take the stage. When Max approaches him in a coffee shop with a crazy request to pretend to be her boyfriend, he agrees to play the part. But when Cade plays the role a little too well, they’re forced to keep the ruse going. And the more they fake the relationship, the more real it begins to feel.

Release Date: June 4, 2013


Oh. My. God. Can I tell you how excited I am to read this book?! I need it NOW! As in, please, right this second?! I absolutely loved Cora Carmack's novel "Faking It" (review here). Her writing is witty and engaging with a side of awesome. I don't know how I'm suppose to wait for this to come out!

Cora Carmack's Post: The One with the Reveal



Top Ten Romances in Books

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.


If I Stay by Gayle Forman
Mia & Adam


Soul Screamers by Rachel Vincent
Kaylee & Tod

Succubus Blues by Richelle Mead
Georgina & Seth


Pure by Jennifer L. Armentrout
Aiden & Alex

City of Bones by Cassandra Clare
Clary & Jace

Delirium by Lauren Oliver
Lena & Alex

Lux Series by Jennifer L. Armentrout
Daemon & Katy

Vampire Knight by Matsuri Hino & Tomo Kimura
Zero & Yuki

The Infernal Devices by Cassandra Clare
Tessa & Will

Flowers in the Attic by V.C. Andrews
Chris & Cathy