Sunday, July 29, 2012

"Callum and Harper" by Fisher Amelie

Title: Callum & Harper

By: Fisher Amelie
Genre: YA
Format: Kindle
Cover Rating: 5/5 Stars

From Goodreads: Life sucks for orphans Callum Tate and Harper Bailey.

Kicked out of their foster homes because they suffer the 'eighteen disease' with nothing but a hundred dollar check from the government and a pat on the back, they're forced to rely on a system that failed them miserably.

So they sit. They sit inside Social Services, waiting for their social workers to call their names and offer them the miracle they know will never come but they sit anyway because they have nowhere else to go, no other options on their very literal and figurative empty plates.

But as they sit, they notice the other. Although captivated, they each come to the conclusion that life is complicated enough without throwing in a boiling tension that can't ever be acted upon because they're both too busy thinking about where their next meal will come from but when their names are called and both are placed on a year long waiting list for permanent housing, suddenly relying on each other seems like a very viable plan B.

And, oh, how lovely Plan B's can be.

Well, except for the psycho from Harper's past that haunts her and, oh, yeah, there's the little issue that neither of them knows they're in love with the other. 


My Thoughts:  Okay, I have yet to post a "bad" review on my blog, but there's a first for everything. I REALLY wanted to like this book. I found it and was so excited by the description and the cover. But once I attempted to read it, I discovered it wasn't for me at all. I couldn't even finish it. The characters of Callum and Harper were good in theory, but fell flat on the page. They were cliche and like some other reviewers said, Callum came off as girlish. I was unable to connect to them emotionally, which I found odd because the story should have been filled with emotion since the two kids are basically homeless. It felt sugar-coated. Granted, I did only read 16% of the book, but being thrown out on the streets should leave you pretty freaked out. Even their "relationship" was plastic to me. There was no depth, just "Oh, she's pretty." It was "love at first sight". I mean, as the story goes on I'm sure they got to know one another better, but their foundation was ridiculous for me.

However, I could have finished the book with all that. I may would have even rated it 3 stars. But what really made me unable to endure it was the writing. The author switches between past/ present constantly, jarring me from the pages of the story and yanking me right out of the world.

All in all, the idea of this book is pretty awesome, but it's been poorly executed. I think that if the author went back and edited some things it could be a 5 star book. It needs more emotion and for the love of all that is holy, for her to pick a tense and stick with it.


My Rating:
  

Friday, July 27, 2012

"Easy" by Tammara Webber

Title: Easy

By: Tammara Webber

Format: Kindle
Genre: New Adult/ Romance
Cover Rating: 5/5 (Seriously, have you seen that guy?!)


From Goodreads: When Jacqueline follows her longtime boyfriend to the college of his choice, the last thing she expects is a breakup two months into sophomore year. After two weeks in shock, she wakes up to her new reality: she's single, attending a state university instead of a music conservatory, ignored by her former circle of friends, and failing a class for the first time in her life.

Leaving a party alone, Jacqueline is assaulted by her ex's frat brother. Rescued by a stranger who seems to be in the right place at the right time, she wants nothing more than to forget the attack and that night--but her savior, Lucas, sits on the back row of her econ class, sketching in a notebook and staring at her. Her friends nominate him to be the perfect rebound.

When her attacker turns stalker, Jacqueline has a choice: crumple in defeat or learn to fight back. Lucas remains protective, but he's hiding secrets of his own. Suddenly appearances are everything, and knowing who to trust is anything but easy.


My Thoughts: I loved this book! I read it in one day and it was a fantastic refreshing read. I love this new genre of college students that has taken the book world by storm. It's so nice for the writing community to acknowledge that college is just as important, if not more so, then high-school. That's when you're truly finding out who you are. So it's great to get some relate-able characters for a change. And Tammara Webber really captures the collegiate life-style. Seriously, I felt like I was back on campus (and I totally longed for it). 

Jacqueline is a fantastic heroine, as well. She's intriguing and her relationship with Lucas is addictive. Speaking of which... Lucas has to be one of the MOST hottest fictional characters I've ran across in a while! He's mysterious with all of these layers of chivalry, standoffish-ness and vulnerability mixed in. And did I mention he has a lip ring and tattoos? Yeah, I pretty much melted. *Sigh* If only he were real...

Anyway, the plot is fantastic and gripping. Definitely keeps you in suspense of who Lucas really is and his past. Not to mention the fact that J has a complete psychotic stalker on her hands. I really enjoyed it and I can't wait to see what else Webber spins out!

My Rating:
 

Wednesday, July 25, 2012

"Bad Taste in Boys" by Carrie Harris

Title: Bad Taste in Boys
By: Carrie Harris
Format: Paperback
Genre: YA Comedy/ Zombies
Cover Rating: 5/5 Stars

From Goodreads: Someone's been a very bad zombie.
Kate Grable is horrified to find out that the football coach has given the team steroids. Worse yet, the steriods are having an unexpected effect, turning hot gridiron hunks into mindless flesh-eating zombies. No one is safe--not her cute crush Aaron, not her dorky brother, Jonah . . . not even Kate! She's got to find an antidote--before her entire high school ends up eating each other. So Kate, her best girlfriend, Rocky, and Aaron stage a frantic battle to save their town  . . . and stay hormonally human.


My Thoughts: First of all I would like to send a big thank you over to my friend Jen at At Random for sending me this book and being so awesome :)

Bad Taste in Boys is a super quick, fun read about a young girl just trying to make it through high-school, with a crush on the quarter-back, and an annoying, but lovable, little brother in tow. Oh, and stopping the zombie apocalypse, of course.

Quirky, funny, and yes, extremely un-realistic, Bad Taste in Boys will leave you feeling goofy when you need some cheering up.

My Rating:



"Finding Home" by Lauren Baker & Bonnie Dee

Title: Finding Home
Authors: Lauren Baker and Bonnie Dee
Format: Kindle
Genre: New Adult Romance
Cover Rating; 4/5 Stars

From Goodreads: Her family, her friends and her conscience all say it's wrong to fall for the hustler she rescued from the streets. How come it feels so right? When Megan first meets Mouth, a homeless teenage hustler, on the streets of L.A., he's the perfect subject for the street life expose she hopes will help her break into journalism. She doesn't expect to be drawn into his life and become his friend-or to take him in after he's been beaten and robbed by thugs. As they learn to live together, a powerful attraction flourishes between Megan and the young man. Although he's street smart, tough and mature, he's also a youth in transition. When they finally give in to the sexual heat between them, Megan fears she's taking advantage of her position as his mentor. Their relationship challenges every aspect of her life. Megan must make difficult choices between the conflicting demands of her friends and family, her career and love. Warning: Explicit sex, reference to underage sex, graphic language, violence.

My Thoughts: I absolutely LOVED this book! Sean (aka Mouth) and Megan are amazingly well defined characters who will get under your skin. They have fantastic chemistry and their relationship is balanced on a seesaw just waiting to topple over one way or another.
The story was one of the more original ones I've read yet. Yes, it's a "romance novel", but it's not the crap your use to finding on the supermarket shelf. It's emotional and endearing. Sean has some seriously screwed up baggage that is nothing less than heartbreaking for someone so young. While Megan is trying to make her way into the journalism world, and finding it harder then she first imagined. When Sean comes into the picture, everything in her life turns upside down.
If you enjoyed Jamie McGuire's Beautiful Disaster, then you will love this book!
This is NOT for younger readers, the subject matter is very explicit!

My Rating:
 

Wednesday, July 11, 2012

Soul Screamers Kick Off!

Hi guys!

So I'm finally starting Soul Screamers by Rachel Vincent. I know, I know- I should have done this a long time ago, but I'm making up for it now! Anyway, this week I'll be starting Volume One. Which looks like this:


However, for my reviews I'll be using the individual book covers, just so no one gets confused. But I highly recommend you buy the whole volume instead. I'm only on book 1 and I can't put it down!

So let's get started!
________________________________________________________________________________

Sneak Peak: "My Soul to Lose" by Rachel Vincent:

Series: Soul Screamers (#0.5)
Format: Paperback Volume 1
Genre: YA Paranormal
Cover Rating: 5/5 Stars

From Goodreads: It was supposed to be a fun day, shopping at the mall with her best friend. Then the panic attack started and Kaylee Cavanaugh finds herself screaming, unable to stop. Her secret fears are exposed and it's the worst day of her life.
Until she wakes up in the psychiatric unit.
She tries to convince everyone she's fine--despite the shadows she sees forming around another patient and the urge to scream which comes burbling up again and again. Everyone thinks she's crazy. Everyone except Lydia, that is. Another patient with some special abilities....
My Thoughts: I started this series off with the prequel, which is something I usually try to avoid. However, this one sets up the story wonderfully! Kaylee is already cemented in my mind as a fantastic character who has some very horrific things happening to her. I imagine that as I continue with the series I may run into a few more of the characters from this story. At least, I hope to anyway. Lydia is too intriguing to leave behind and Emma is someone I will definitely want to keep up with.

Then there's this plot set-up. I want to know what is going on with Kaylee and her "panic-attacks"! Such an awesomely creeptastic and original story line! I can't wait to find out more. 

My Rating:


So for those of you that have read the series, what did you think about the prequel? Without giving anything away of course! Was it a "Yay" or a "Nay"?

Tuesday, July 10, 2012

"Tempting the Best Man" by J. Lynn

Title: Tempting the Best Man
By: J. Lynn (Jennifer L. Armentrout)
Series: Gamble Brothers
Format: Kindle
Genre: New Adult/ Romantic Comedy
Cover Rating: 3/5 Stars

From Goodreads: Madison Daniels has worshipped her brother's best friend since they were kids. Everyone thinks she and Chase Gamble would make the perfect couple, but there are two major flaws in their logic. 1) Chase has sworn off relationships of any kind, and 2) after blurring the line between friends and lovers for one night four years ago, they can't stop bickering.


Forced together for her brother's wedding getaway, Chase and Madison decide to call a truce for the happy couple. Except all bets are off when they're forced to shack up in a tacky 70’s honeymoon suite and survive a multitude of "accidents" as the family tries to prove their "spark" can be used than for more than fighting. That is, if they don't strangle each other first…


My Thoughts: I laughed, I cried, I fell in love with another one of Jennifer's men- Chase Gamble! I read this book in less then two hours and it lived up to JLA's highly awesome standards. What I really love about this is that it fits in that (somewhat) new genre of "New Adult". This is not your mother's harlequin romance or her "dirty smutt" books she hides under her pillow from your dad. The characters are witty and real. We don't have Fabio coming in to rescue some blonde bimbo with her face in orgasmic bliss. We get your older brother's smoking hot best-friend who just happens to be the ultimate smooth talker. And we get Madison- someone who is like your own best friend- a smart, funny and adorable girl who doesn't take crap from anyone... besides Chase, of course.

Not only that, but this book is totally relatable. Who of us hasn't had crushes on our big brothers best friends? Sure, they don't usually turn out to be the love of our lives, but most of us have been there at some point. Idolizing the guy who is over-protective over you and is always around your house when your a teenager.

So, is it hot? Oh, Definitely. My kindle was smoking while I read it. But it's also more then that. It's a sweet, feel good, romantic comedy that will have you flipping pages until it's over.

My Rating:

Sunday, July 8, 2012

"The First Days" by Rhiannon Frater

Title: The First Days
By: Rhiannon Frater
Series: As the World Dies: A Zombie Trilogy
Format: Paperback
Genre: Adult- Horror/ Apocalyptic/ Dystopia/ Zombies
Cover Rating: 5/5 Stars


From GoodReads: The morning that the world ends, Katie is getting ready for court and housewife Jenni is taking care of her family. Less than two hours later, they are fleeing for their lives from a zombie horde. 


Thrown together by circumstance, Jenni and Katie become a powerful zombie-killing partnership, mowing down zombies as they rescue Jenni's stepson, Jason, from an infected campground.


They find sanctuary in a tiny, roughly fortified Texas town.  There Jenni and Katie find they are both attracted to Travis, leader of the survivors; and the refugees must slaughter people they know, who have returned in zombie form.  


My Thoughts: As my first adult zombie read... I freaking LOVED it!!! Katie and Jenni are hardcore (excuse my language) bad asses. In a world where men are usually the heroes when it comes to the zombie outbreak, these ladies take charge and don't take any bs along the way. They build a connection so strongly, you feel like you become a part of it. You may not want to be sucked into their scary as hell world, but you want to have that bond they share. These women are definitely heroines worthy of your time. 

The First Days takes you on a hurricane ride, starting with Day 1 of the zombie outbreak. No one knows how or why it's happening, and already few are left alive. What I really loved about this book (besides the awesome character development) was that it stayed original in what has become a very popular subject/ genre. Usually while reading a zombie book, we already know what's going on and why it happened because it takes place months, or even years later, but not with this one. We're left just as anxious as Katie and Jenni. Which makes complete sense since it is the very first day and broadcasting is being shutdown everywhere you turn. Although, I do hope this will be addressed later on in the other books.

This is one trilogy you do not want to miss out on! Fans of The Walking Dead will throughly enjoy this novel, just don't expect wimpy women like they have on the show, these ladies give men like Rick and Shane a run for their money!

My Rating: 




Sunday, July 1, 2012

"Anna Dressed in Blood" by Kendare Blake

Title: Anna Dressed in Blood
By: Kendare Blake
Publication: August 30, 2011 by Tor Teen
Format: Kindle
Genre: YA/ Paranormal Romance/ Horror
Cover Rating: 5/5 Stars

From Goodreads: Cas Lowood has inherited an unusual vocation: He kills the dead.

So did his father before him, until his gruesome murder by a ghost he sought to kill. Now, armed with his father’s mysterious and deadly athame, Cas travels the country with his kitchen-witch mother and their spirit-sniffing cat. Together they follow legends and local lore, trying to keep up with the murderous dead—keeping pesky things like the future and friends at bay.

When they arrive in a new town in search of a ghost the locals call Anna Dressed in Blood, Cas doesn’t expect anything outside of the ordinary: move, hunt, kill. What he finds instead is a girl entangled in curses and rage, a ghost like he’s never faced before. She still wears the dress she wore on the day of her brutal murder in 1958: once white, but now stained red and dripping blood. Since her death, Anna has killed any and every person who has dared to step into the deserted Victorian she used to call home.

And she, for whatever reason, spares his life


My Thoughts: It was AMAZING! I stayed up reading under my covers all night too afraid to turn off my light or run to the kitchen for a drink of water. Kendare Blake knows how to weave one hell of a scary story. With qualities similar to the show "Supernatural", Anna Dressed in Blood is ten times better and more original.

Narrated by Cas, there's never a stale moment in this haunting mystery. The plot kept me flipping the pages well past my bedtime and the ending left me wanting more. I highly recommend this book! But beware, it truly is a grisly, not for the faint of heart read!

My Rating: